Brunchfest of Champions

This morning I woke up to the smell of (nothing) cooking, and thought to myself..I want pancakes today! But not just any pancakes..

Brownie Batter Pancakes.

Pre-toppage:

IMG_3048Post-toppage:

IMG_3052

In the words of Austin Powers,

Yeahhhhh baby!

Brownie Batter Pancakes

Adapted from Chocolate-Covered Katie

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Mix your dry ingredients, then heat your pancake-makin’ pan on medium.
  2. Add in wet ingredients and mix mix mix!
  3. This is a good time to add in whatever else you want in your pancakes: hunks of chocolate, chocolate chips, cocoa powder (more if you already used it!), cinnamon, extracts of your choice, raisins, cacao nibs, chopped dried fruit, chopped up apples, berries…the list goes on and on!
  4. Then, pour your batter into pancakes sized to your liking and flip when little bubbles appear.
  5. Enjoy with whatever toppings you like!

I had mine topped with loads of peanut butta, apple spread (of course, the apple spread has to go on last for ultimate pb-spreadage), cacao nibs, and my usual mix of bluebs, rasps, blackburries, and chopped strawbs.

Aka, Reese’s Berry Brownie Batter Pancakes! Well, isn’t that a mouthful ;)

IMG_3058

Then, since CKMom slept in a little, I offered to make her a lovely Sunday Brunchfest too! Since she loves bananas, this was what came immediately to the CKBrain:

IMG_3062

Banana Peanut-Butter-Cup Oats

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Bring oats and milk to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and stir occasionally.
  2. When oats are about done cooking, mash banana and microwave for about 15 seconds. Mix in with oats immediately, while still cooking. (p.s. this is CCK’s amazeballs melted banana trick! Thanks, Katie Smile)
  3. Continue to cook for another minute or two until milk is almost completely absorbed, then cover and remove from heat.
  4. In about 2-3 minutes, serve and top with peanut butter and a few sprinkles of cacao nibs.
  5. Stir everything together, and devour :)

If you like, you can even add: chocolate chips, cocoa powder, Chocolate Amazing Grass, or even some chocolate syrup! (woo, Ah!Laska!) Peanut butter and chocolate is definitely my favorite combo..I even put pb on my Endangered Species 88% cacao chocolate squares ;)

IMG_3059

CKMom absolutely loved this concoction. She was skeptical about “mixing it all together”, but as soon as she did a few “mmm!’s” came from her direction.

Gotta love them oats!

In other notes, I found this baby at my grocery store today:

IMG_3063

I believe this monster is called an Asian/Chinese grapefruit, but I’m probably wrong. However, this sucker was huge! Like, ginormous. I don’t know how someone could eat this, it was as big as a basketball.

Then, the winter farmer’s market was a slight disappointment. Too much bread and soap, too little veggies! My heart was hurting. I did manage to snag some yummy sauerkraut, however, and some golden delicious apples – they are definitely my favorite at the moment, closely tied with cameos. But pears, grapefruits, and berries will always have my heart at breakfast :)

I also went to my favorite co-op and picked up some cashew butter, buckwheat soba noodles (I may be gluten intolerant – more on that in another post), and Larabars! I finally found the Banana Bread and Carrot Cake flavors!! I don’t think anyone quite knows how happy I am..I’ve been searching for these forever and can’t believe I haven’t seen them at the co-op! Better late than never ;)

carrotcake_glamour_large

Mmmm, I cannot wait to try this tomorrow! It’ll make my Monday just a little less Monday-ish ;)

 

Alright lovelies, time for me to catch the last few minutes of Desperate Housewives and hit the hay! Hope everyone had a lovely, lazy Sunday :)

xoxox,

Signature

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Uncategorized, Vegan

8 responses to “Brunchfest of Champions

  1. Amy

    okayyy, your blog is delicious. end of story.

    I saw your post about fries and cheesecake, it all looked so yummy!

    -Amy :)

  2. That sounds like a perfect brunchfest!! :) YUM

  3. I love breakfast foods and these sound delicious.
    I’m especially lovin’ all that PB goodness :)

  4. Pingback: Gluten-Free Orange-Cranberry Cookies « Chef Katelyn

  5. this is from forever ago, and I was just reading back through your recipes but that huuuge thing is called a Pumelo and it happens to be my favorite fruit!! and yes, you can indeed make a meal out of it : )

Leave a Reply

