Daily Archives: March 6, 2011

Reader’s Request: My Go-To Snacks + Meals On-The-Go!

Happy Indulgence Friday, bloggy boos! How are you?

Edit: It is NOT indulgence friday. Haha I wrote this post for friday and forgot to edit it. Don’t worry I am not senile:)

I am blogging super duper late today because last night was spent studying my booTAY off with help from the Padre. He is the best. teacher. ever.

So anywhos, a few days ago I participated in Katie’s bakesale to raise money for her upcoming trip to Nicaragua!

As you all know, Nicaragua holds a dear place in my heart, and I would do anything to send a friend down there to work with their beautiful people. I am so excited for you, Katie!!

I contributed my Apple Cinnamon Raisin Muffies and my Gluten-Free Raspberry Amaretto Cookies. I can’t wait to find out who the lucky winners are! If you are reading this right now and you were the highest bidder, get ready for some yumsky in your tumsky!

I wish I had been able to link back to the auction, but unfortunately I was feeling no bueno and was sleeping all day:( I also got some bloodwork done, because I am concerned that I am low on iron (anemic) again. Boooooo! Nothing an iron supplement and more raisins can’t fix ;)

Alrighty, so since I am in the library I feel like a BAMF posting right now. Aka, I should be doing my schoolwork:)

Until then, I am going to talk about some of my go-to snacks and favorite meals on-the-go. I have gotten quite a few reader’s requests for this, the most recent one being from reader Alexis:

Random question but what kind of things do you eat on the go? Like for lunch or dinner in a pinch?  I just got some Amy’s veggie burgers that I like, and I make wraps and salads and stuff, but I get bored with that stuff sometimes!!!

First of all, we all know I am a giant lover of the quinoa-hummus-raisin-balsamic bowl :) If you have been reading this blog for even 2.53 seconds, you know that I eat approx. twelve of these a day. It is definitely a love-love relationship.

One reader asked me exactly how I make one of these. Well, my friends, it is quite simple! Every day or two I make a giant batch of quinoa (usually black quinoa..smells like Grape Nuts:) My how-to is here) and a batch of hummus (recipe here). Lately I have been using Hemp Seed Oil or Vega’s EFA Oil Blend instaed of the EVOO, and it tastes so much more rich! Plus, who doesn’t love all of those antioxidants?!

This combo is delicious, high in protein, and gets in your carbs, healthy fats, complete proteins, and some slimming balsamic vinegar. Let’s get started!

I am not going to show you a picture because of how icky it always looks, BUT I will give you a step-by-step guide to make your first Quinoa-Hummus-Raisin-Balsamic Bowl :)

Halt! Quick note: Do NOT use store-bought hummus for this! Store-bought is waaaay too salty and this tastes a million times better with homemade. Isn’t everything better when you make it yourself?! Nothing like the smell of a food processor full of freshly made hummus in the morning:)

  1. Grab a cute bowl. Preferably one that looks like a dog bowl, like so:Or, grab your favorite mug. Mine has Robin Hood on it. Doesn’t yours?
  2. Put a giant scoopsky (or two) of quinoa in your bowl, followed like another giant scoopsky (or two) of your home-made hummus into your bowl/mug. Do NOT do this on a plate, I promise you this is one meal that requires a bowl!
  3. Add a sprinkle of raisins (my obsession), a drizzle of balsamic, and mix.
  4. Inhale, and then make yourself three or four more of these. It will be necessary.

These are perfect for dinners in a pinch (hello, giant batches of quinoa and hummus!) and it is absolutely delicious, nutritious, and ultra-portable. I cannot tell you how many times I have dumped one of these into a tupperware and taken it with me in the car (I am a pro at eating while driving, and yes I can do it while keeping my eyes on the road!), to class, or to church.

My next favorite dinner-in-a-pinch is the salad beast. It is the most delicious and quick, complete meal in the world to throw some lettuce, chopped veggies, beans, quinoa, and some sunflower seeds in a bowl and top it with some oil and vinegar. But only in a family-sized serving bowl, obvs:)

^^ Salad bowl the size of my bootay

Many nights, I just come home and plop some veggies in one bowl, and put some grains (usually quinoa or popped amaranth) and some beans (usually lentils or hummus) in a bowl, and then top with some vinegar or marinara. Obviously a handful or two of raisins get in there as well:)

Unforch, gluten-free bread is pricy and not my fave, so I don’t use it very much. BUT, if you can/do eat bread, wraps, pitas, etc, those are great for throwing in some veggies, beans/hummus, salsa/other sauce, and calling it a day. Wraps are especially great for wrapping, stashing, and noshing on-the-go!

As a student next year, I know that tupperwares full of grains and beans will be my go-to, so for all of you students I highly recommend investing in a pair of travel utensils. They are so cute, so cheap, and environmentally friendly. Who wouldn’t want a pair of these?!

Next up is obviously cauliflower rice. Top it with a veggie burger (Amy’s Sonoma is my current fave!), quinoa, beans, and (you guessed it) hummus, raisins, and balsamic. That combo will never get old;)

Another one of my super-quick faves is Baked Falafel Balls. Quick, healthy, delicious, and full of chickpea protein goodness. Oh, and they are ROCKIN topped with balsamic. Noticing a pattern here?;)

Following this would obviously have to be my Gluten-Free Pizza for One. Because no list of yummy deliciousness is complete without pizza.

Fugly food is always the yummiest, remember?:)

Next up are my Portabello Mushroom Burgers. Douse ‘em, stick ‘em in the oven, read some blogs, (maybe) wash your hair, and pop ‘em on a bun, some bread, or go CK-Style and plop it on a bed of quinoa, beans, and marinara!

Or, if you want a fresh-not-frozen veggie burger, make your own! In my original I used lentils and quinoa because that’s what I had on hand, but any grain or bean would do!

Or, if you are looking for simple how-to’s, here are mine on Parsnip Fries, Roasting Brussels Sprouts, and Baking a Sweet Potato. If you want to get really back-to-basics, here is a quick how-to on cooking quinoa!

Of course, there are many nights that I end up whipping together a Cookie Dough Bowl for Brinner. Not that I’m complaining or anything:)

Breakfast for dinner is my FAVORITE! Who wouldn’t want a giant stack of pancakes before bed?!

Now onto the snackety snacks!

First off, we all know about my obsession with Larabars. BUT, when I have time, I make my own. I call them KateBars. Klassy with a K, I know.

I’ve got Apple Pie, Cinnamon Bun, and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. Next up is Lemon Bar and Blueberry Muffin. Get excited bloggy boos!

Or if you dig the cooked kind (like Nature Valley Oats ‘N Honey style), try out my DIY Energy Bars!

Of course, if you want something slurpable, a Berry High-Protein Green Smoothie is always a great choice to get in your greens and stay full!

^^ Fugly yet crazy delicious

Whenever I need a small snack before dinner or before bed, I mix up some Micro Muffie batter and nuke for a minute and a half, then top with some almond butter. Perfect for the lazy-loo in me!

Post-workout or for a quick snack, my Chocolate Protein Frudding tastes like a dessert, but is loaded with protein, healthy fats, and absolutely no sugar. Does it get any better?!

No, my friends, it really doesn’t.

Lots of times, I have Quinoa-Hummus-Raisin-Balsamic Bowls for snackety snacks as well. I just scale down the portion sizes a bit, and voila!:)

I can always use a Mango Lassi to slurp on the way out…

Or a Chocolate Milkshake. Ya know, the healthy kind.

My Raw Chocolate Mousse also becomes an occasional snack, when I’m feeling rather indulgent:)

^^ Moooooose!

And since my Gluten-Free Orange Cranberry Cookies and Raspberry Amaretto Cookies are so healthy, I grab them out of the freezer and pop them into the microwave for an almond-butter-topped sweet snack!

Not enough yummy deliciousness for ya? Get ready for what’s coming soon!

  • Vega Vibrancy and Energy Bars, CK-Style (aka cheap and delicious)
  • More homemade KateBar recipes
  • And hopefully more dessert/savory recipes. I need to switch it up a bit:)

That’s all for today loves! Have an AMAZING Sunday, and see you tomorrow! <3

Tell me some of YOUR favorite go-to snacks and meals on-the-go!

xoxox,

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized