Figgy Smoothie.

Good evening love doves!! How are ya?

Please say sunny and dandy because surprisingly that is how it’s going in Upstate New York! I know, shocker.

IMG_4447IMG_4459 IMG_4454 IMG_4455

Oh, and I basically drooled over all of your favorite pancake recipes. I think my spring break is going to include my fair share of pancakes, don’t you? <3

In other news, because of the sunny deliciousness weather we have been experiencing, I had to hit the pavement. It was calling my name. It was just me, the music, and Darren. So in love.

My getup was ORANGE style:

IMG_4466

Holy cheekbones!

Darren on my left, as uge.

I pounded out a six-mile fun run, give or take 59 minutes (stoplight every two minutes, awesome). My Garmin pace was 9:54, but lord knows that the stoplights ruined my awesomesauce pace that I was ripping. Yup just used that as a verb.

IMG_4468

Immediately after every workout, I down a recovery smoothie. Usually the recipe includes dates, banana, protein powder, dulse, xanthan gum, and EFA oil, but we were all out of dates. I KNOW I didn’t know what to do with myself…

SO I used my girl scout superpowers and got thrifty. (side note: I was never a girl scout I just like to pretend I was)

What does a girl do when she’s all out of delicious dates? She finds the next best dried fruit in her house. In my case, it was dried figs.

Say whaaaaa?!

Yup, Figgy Smoothie to the rescue!

IMG_4471

Figgy Recovery Smoothie

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup dried figs
  • 1 tsp. dulse flakes
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum (optional)
  • 1 tsp. EFA oil (or other oil of choice)
  • 1 (heaping) tbsp. protein powder (I roll with Vega Vanilla Sport)
  • 2 cups water

Directions:

  1. Bend, baby, blend! Enjoy in a bowl, with a spoon. Only way to go.

I went with my favorite Pooh mug. It is giant, adorable, and makes me feel like a child again:)

IMG_4474

This recovery smoothie recipe is based on Brendan Brazier’s recovery smoothie from his book, The Thrive Diet. I’ve found that this smoothie gives my muscles the refuel they need immediately after working out (no matter how hard or easy!), and reduces soreness and cravings by a million.

IMG_4475

So even if you didn’t just work out, you should make it anyway. Because it’s really, really good. This was one of those times when you get to the bottom of the mug and think to yourself, Wait, wasn’t there more than this before? I swear I didn’t eat all of that already..

Well guess what self, you just did.

Time for me to go make some din! Should I roll with some socca, or pizza?! Help a sista out:)

See you tomorrow boos!!

What should I roll with for dinner?

I’m really indecisive when it comes to food. I just want everything!

Favorite post-workout smoothie or snack?

This son of a gun.

What was your Thursday workout?

Six mile fun run in the sun:)

xoxox,

Signature

25 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes, Running, Vegan, Workouts

25 responses to “Figgy Smoothie.

  1. i’m LOVING this weather, i’m mixing up runs and recovery walks with my pup…heck ya for BLO and Rachacha finally catching up on the decent weather bandwagon!

  2. I am also indecisive with food, I usually have a plate of randomness for lunch and supper, than i dont have to decide between anything….. and breakfeast is usually the same evvvvvverrrrry day.

    post workout snacks are usually smooooothie or banana+pb!

  3. I love that you used awesomesauce. The world will be infected with my strange words ha. You should have a hummus bowl and then go to the Natural Oasis and have lentils because that is what I want to do right now.

  4. The smoothie sounds yummy—I’m a big fig fan :) My problem is when Weg’s has fresh ones and I buy a container with 12 in it…and eat them all in a day!

    I should have run outside today and tested things out, but I stuck to my beloved AMT…that was ok, but seriously could have used the fresh air! Get it now…cuz it’s going to rain this weekend!

    I hope you went with socca AND pizza for dinner :)

  5. I loooove figs! They remind me of summer, that’s for sure!

  6. I always eat a protein bar after I work out. I’m too lazy to make anything. Hahah.

  7. Soooo jealous of the sandal weather! We got a tease and now it’s cold again… :(

  8. I literally just made a vanilla smoothie with fig in it. LOVE the addition. I use it as my sugar. Figs are the best.
    CUTE FACE!!

  9. Abby

    Jealous of your sunshiney day! We have had a downpour here all day and snow is on the way tonight! My workout today was a 5 mile run! :)

  10. Thursday workout was Jillian Michaels 30 day shred level 1 and 2! I need some strength training in my life! My post workout fuel was rice cakes with PB and carrots, a big bowl of fruit, and some milk with carob powder<-chocolatey milk right thuuuuur!

  11. runyogarepeat

    Love your Syracuse running gear!
    I’ve never thought to add dates or figs, but they sound excellent. Smoothies are the best post-run fuel.
    Today’s workout was a trail run in the morning with killer, muddy hills, then a spin class in the afternoon.

  12. applesnoats

    i love my smoothies with strawbs, cocoa, xanthum, and protein powder plus a little sprinkle of pb2 on the top…kinda like a cherry on top but way better!

  13. kEndra

    socca pizza!! :) it makes me depressed when i see your work outs posted – you go girl. send a little of that self-discipline my way! ;)

  14. I love smoothies after a good sweaty run! In fact, I had one today :)

  15. oo great run!!! i just had a smoothie after my run today!! shudda eaten this one though !!

    thursday workout was rest day- but todays was a hill incline run!!
    socca!

  16. TheCreamFilling

    I went for an easy 2 miler on Thursday with my little broski.

    The smoothie looks great!

    I usually plan my run/workout around my meals so I don’t usually “refuel” I just eat breakfast/lunch/dinner.

  17. What an awesome smoothie! I think I’m just making a sammie for my pwo today, how boring I know ;)

  18. Have you read Thrive Fitness yet? It’s really good! A running junkie like you would love it, plus it’s got lots of workout-related recipes! :)

  19. Ah, we had great weather for a few days and now it’s been poopy these past few days! Can’t wait til it gets nice again!! :)

  20. I’m loving the warmer weather! I always feel more motiavated to run when it is nice outside.
    That smoothie looks delicious! I have huge bag of figs, so I’ll be making it soon! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Katelyn! :-D

  21. Presley

    Awesome run… Even with the stoplights ;)

  22. I’m always stuck on making the same smoothies. Putting figs in it will change it up, for sure!

  23. Totally lovin’ your Syracuse get-up my dear :) I’ve finally posted again after taking a bit of a blogging break. I’m refreshed and so happy to start writing again. Check me outtttt :)

  24. I love TIGGER!!! :D T-I-double Guh-er. That spells Tigger! :D

Leave a Reply

