Raw, raw, ah ah ahhh

Last night, I felt like going raw. So, I made a raw tomato soup and tabbouleh (bulgur isn’t exactly raw, but it was the only part that was cooked! ๐Ÿ™‚ ). The soup has a little bit of a kick to it (from the garlic) which I really liked, and it was super refreshing. The tabbouleh was so good, and we kept going back for more! I made a giaaaaaant bowl that was totally full and we ate most of it. Go us!

Raw Tomato Soup

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 6 tomatoes
  • 4 stalks of celery
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • a large handful of basil

Directions:

  1. Blend and serve immediately. Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

Tabbouleh

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup dry bulgur
  • 1-2 cups halved grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 (15.5-oz.) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice (this would also probably be good with a tablespoon or two of EVOO)

Directions:

  1. Boil 2 cups of water in a medium saucepan with a pinch of sea salt. Once boiled, stir in the bulgur, then remove from heat and cover for 30 minutes (or until all the water is absorbed).
  2. Fluff bulgur with a fork and combine with chopped vegetables and chickpeas. Pour in lemon juice and thoroughly combine.
  3. Season with salt and pepper to taste (I prefer this dish naked) and serve!

We also had a few bananas lying around that were just a tad too ripe to eat, so I decided to whip up some banana bread for dessert! However, it’s the healthiest banana bread on earth since it contains no added sugar, artificial sweeteners, or refined carbohydrates so it’s perfect as a breakfast or pre-workout snack! You can find my recipe here. This time, I added a cup of raisins (a heaping cup I should say) and another heaping cup of walnuts. You can make it more dessert-y by adding in some vegan chocolate chips, cacao nibs, or even some unsweetened cacao powder! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

You can still see little chunks of bananers :)yum yum

We also happened to have a pineapple lying around. And two mangoes. And a watermelon….

Let’s just say I have a lot of fruit in my fridge.

In other news, I’m training for a 5K! It’s on September 5th, so I still have time to train. I have to get used to running outside, it’s always so humid! I got in two miles outside today, and tomorrow I’ll try to build my endurance. After that, I had to go inside for the rest of my workout…much too humid for my little lungs.

Do youย haveย any advice for race training? Personal stories in running? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s all for now! I observed a dietitian for 5 hours today, so I’ll recap on that later ๐Ÿ™‚

xoxox,

Katelyn

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegan

3 responses to “Raw, raw, ah ah ahhh

  1. I plan on running my first 5k next Spring! Kinda as a “after baby goal!” Good luck!!

    • Awe that is so exciting!! Is it a boy or a girl? You probably get that question a million times a day ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you and good luck to you too! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. AHAHAHH wait.. i was totally blog-stalking you and realized i made a post with this EXACT title.. that is FREAKY!

Leave a Reply

