Thanksgiving in August

It’s been stormy and dark all day, so tonight for dinner I wanted something a bit…warmer. Like soothe-the-soul kind of warm. So, I went with my signature butternut squash soup, roasted asparagus, black jicama rice with raw almonds, and salads with avocado. Mmmm I’m getting warmer just thinking about it 🙂

Butternut Squash Soup 🙂 It looked MUCH more orange in person

Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. butternut squash
  • 2 cups water
  • Cinnamon, allspice, and/or nutmeg to taste (I use just cinnamon)
  • 1-2 cups water

Directions:

  1. Wash and chop the butternut squash into cubes.
  2. Place a steamer basket in a large pot with the 2 cups of water and bring to a boil. Add butternut squash to the steamer basket and allow to steam until brightly colored and easily pierced with a fork.
  3. Carefully tip and remove steamer basket, allowing the squash to fall into the hot water. Let sit for a few minutes and stir.
  4. Add squash and water to a blender and puree until smooth. Be sure to push pieces down so they all blend completely.
  5. Once completely smooth, pour and scrape soup back into pot and add a cup of water. Stir and reheat over low heat.
  6. Add spices and continue stirring, adding water to your desired consistency (I usually only need 1 cup).
  7. Once bubbles start forming, it is hot enough to serve. Enjoy! 🙂

Butternut squash soup is one of my favorite recipes of all time. It’s simple, super flavorful and sweet, and always looks really nice in the bowl.

After my Dad had already taken half of them... 🙂

Simple Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients:

  • However much asparagus you plan to eat!
  • EVOO
  • Sea salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Wash asparagus and break off woody ends.
  3. Arrange on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Toss with tongs to evenly coat.
  4. Place in oven for about 12 minutes.

These are so yummy and the tops get perfectly crispy. Crunch crunch 🙂

My favorite rice! Sorry, kind of blurry

What’s your favorite fall meal?

Time to start my day! Until later, lovies 🙂

xoxox,

Katelyn

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

3 responses to “Thanksgiving in August

  1. This is funny because I have been thinking about Fall a lot lately. It’s my favorite season, and while I love Summer, I am a little tired of these hot & sticky days. I’m certainly in no hurry for snow, but I *am* looking forward to that little chill in the air. 🙂

    Your soup looks so delicious!! Jeez, what is my favorite Fall meal? I love soups & stews, vegan gravy on potatoes, pot pies, pumpkin pie, apple pie… Pie… 😉 Seitan… I guess the better (shorter) question would be what DON’T I like? Haha.

    • Hahah agreed! No snow please, but I love the crispness of fall. And thank you!! Let me know if you try it 🙂 I can’t wait to try vegan pies (and gravy!). It will be my first “clean” fall 🙂

  2. Pingback: Puppy Love « Chef Katelyn

Leave a Reply

