It’s all Greek to me

I love Greek food. I could eat hummus, falafel, pitas, and Greek salads (minus the feta cheese) for the rest of my life. Actually, any Mediterannean food will do. So tonight, I made up some homemade falafel wraps with a lemon-tahini sauce. They were to die for! Have a peek:

Pre-wrapping ๐Ÿ™‚ mmm

Homemade Falafel

Recipe adapted from 1000 Vegan Recipes by Robin Robertsonย (Serves 4)

Ingredients:

  • 4 Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas, defrosted
  • 1 1/2 cups (or one 15.5-oz can) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats (or quick oats, if you don’t have old-fashioned)
  • Chickpea flour (I used whole-wheat because I was out of chickpea..oopsie :))
  • EVOO
  • 1 tomato, cut into 8 wedges
  • Lettuce (kale, spinach, arugula, whatever floats your boat)
  • Lemon-tahini dressing (recipe below)

Directions:

  1. Put chickpeas, onion, garlic, cumin, salt, pepper, and oats in a food process and process until it looks like a dough, scraping down the edges and stirring occasionally (make sure you stop the processor first! you should already know this, but safety first :))
  2. Once completely smooth, refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Heat a skillet over medium heat with some EVOO (about 2 tbsp., but I don’t really measure).
  4. Form into 4 balls, then flatten slightly into patties about 3/4-inch thick. Dip each in the flour and then place on the skillet. Cook for about 7 or 8 minutes total on each side, flipping first after 5 minutes. Continue flipping and cooking until completely golden brown.
  5. Place one in the middle of each tortilla and top with lettuce, tomatoes, and the dressing.
  6. Wrap and enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yum yum.

Lemon-Tahini Dressing

(Makes about 1 cup)

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. tahini (sesame paste)
  • 2 tbsp. Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • 3 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp. sesame oil

Directions:

  1. Whisk together the first 4 ingredients, then add sesame oil and combine completely.
  2. Serve room temperature, warm, or refrigerate until ready to use. Will keep refrigerated for 2 to 3 days.

With my salad (half-eaten ๐Ÿ™‚ ), sauteed broccoli and cauliflower, and leftover beets! I. love. beets.

Didn’t I do a lovely wrapping job? It’s clearly pro. The dressing was dripping out a little, but who cares about presentation when you’re hungry? ๐Ÿ™‚

I am still totally stuffed. And reading through the Superhero recipes in The Kind Diet. I love this book! I’ve been a dedicated Skinny Bitch vegan for 3 months now, adding in as much raw as I can, but The Kind Diet opened my eyes to macrobiotics and so many vegetables I’ve never tried. So tonight is the start of my Superhero lifestyle, and I will (most likely ๐Ÿ™‚ ) be trying the grains-and-vegetables concept for breakfast. But there will definitely be some fruit in there…I need my juicy grapfruit!

Have a lovely evening babies ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be recipe planning and watching Sweeney Todd! I love creepy movies

xoxox,

Katelyn

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

2 responses to “It’s all Greek to me

  1. Pingback: Gloomy oomy day « Chef Katelyn

  2. Not to be a smart ash or anything, but falafel is from the Middle East. I’m gonna be using your recipe!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

