Pumpkin Pie for Breakfast

Okay, not real pumpkin pie, but pumpkin pie vegan overnight oats! I’m a follower of the blog http://www.ohsheglows.com, and she has VOO every morning for breakfast, always adding in interesting things, so I thought I would give it a try. I usually just have fruit for breakfast (and don’t eat until my stomach grumbles), but since I’m trying out the Kind Diet “Superhero” style, I thought I would give grains at breakfast a try.

Night-before prep:

pumpkin! yum yum πŸ™‚

not very pretty πŸ™‚ but tastes delicious!

How did I prepare my Vegan Overnight Oats? I’ll tell you! (ps I was so excited last night for my overnight oats that I could nearly sleep..no joke. I wanted to go check on them! and I was brainstorming for future overnight oats πŸ™‚ )

Pumpkin Pie Vegan Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • a lot of cinnamon sprinkled in πŸ™‚
  • 2 tbsp. pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp. raisins
  • 1 cup almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)

Directions:

  1. Mix it all together and then cover and refrigerate overnight. However, I checked on these after about an hour and they were almost ready!! Yum πŸ™‚ I may have tried an eensy bit, too…
  2. In the morning, add whatever you want!

I added more raisins and a pinch of stevia, which was perfect. Angela (from Oh She Glows) usually adds nut butter, cacao nibs, maple syrup, fruit, etc. but today I thought I would go sans a ton of toppings so I could taste the pumpkin.

good mowning πŸ™‚

Tomorrow I’m thinking I’m gonna make an Apple-Cinnamon-Raisin Muffie Overnight Oats, as kind of an adaptation from my Muffie recipe. Yum πŸ™‚

These were super filling (I couldn’t finish it! the rest is in my fridge), so next time I might do less almond milk but more of the pureed/smashed fruits. But, I do feel super energized! My tummy just hurts a little from not being used to anything but fruits and vegetables before 6pm (usually I just have a salad at lunch).

Also, next time I’m gonna try to work out before having any grains for breakfast! My plan for today was to have breakfast and then work out around 11 or noon, but I am so. full. This would be a great post-workout breakfast though, or if you don’t do much vigorous exercise within a few hours of eating.

Question of the morning: What’s your favorite breakfast? Have you tried Vegan Overnight Oats? What’s your favorite VOO recipe?

That’s all for now lovlies! Have an energizing day πŸ™‚

xoxox,

Katelyn

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

2 responses to “Pumpkin Pie for Breakfast

  1. mvtiani

    This looks delicious–I love pumpkin. I’ve decided to go vegan for a month, and I’ve been looking all over for interesting recipes. I really want to try this–are chia seeds necessary? what is the world are they? Like seeds from Chia pets or something???

    Oh and I’d say my favorite breakfast would have to be crepes.

    • That is so great!! It’s the best choice you’ll ever make πŸ™‚
      Nope, no chia seeds! They are great for you though, chock-full of nutrients and healthy fats. No, not from Chia pets πŸ˜‰

      p.s. Crepes are the best! That’s my next brunch project.

Leave a Reply

