Living the Kind Life

Good morning lovlies! It’s (finally) a beautiful day! It’s already 80 and sunny, praise the lord.

So, last night after the mall I was so exhausted..kind of like a Mall Migraine. Do you ever get that? I always end up this way after shopping in real stores instead of online. Boooo. But I got this t-shirt! The picture from the last post was cell-phone-quality, so here’s some HQ for ya:

Go Vegan! with my main man, Porky the Pig

We match!

This Mall Migraine put me to bed around 9 or so, so unfortunately there was no dinner post for you lovely people. The menu was delicious! I whipped up some savory quinoa and kabocha squash with azuki beans with salads. To die for.

We have some beautiful heirloom tomatoes that we bought at the Farmer’s Market, but I can’t bring myself to actually chop them up and eat them! They’re so beautiful.

As you all know, I’ve been following The Kind Diet‘s Superhero plan as much as I can, so I’ve been adding in more whole grains as well as beans (beans, oh my!). And it is so yummy! I’ve been feeling so much better when I add more whole grains and beans to my meals, not to mention full for a lot longer.

Unfortunately no pictures (they turned out blurry from the steam, sorry loves), but I’ll give you the recipes as per usual πŸ™‚ These were absolutely scrumptious and I cannot wait until lunch when I get to have leftovers!

Savory Quinoa with Mushrooms and Spinach

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp. EVOO
  • 1/4 of a red onion, diced
  • 4 or 5 baby bella mushrooms, quartered (more or less to your liking. I like more πŸ™‚ )
  • 4 or 5 small handfuls of spinach lettuce (I don’t really measure)
  • 1 tbsp. freshly chopped flat-leaf parsley

Directions:

  1. Bring quinoa and water to a boil in a medium saucepan over high heat, covered. When boiling, reduce to very low heat to a simmer and let cook for about 30 minutes, or until all water is absorbed.
  2. While quinoa is cooking, heat a skillet and then add EVOO and onions.
  3. Sauté onions until fragrant and near translucent, then add mushrooms, spinach, and parsley. Sauté until mushrooms have reduced and browned slightly and spinach has wilted.
  4. When both quinoa and veggies are done, combine and serve! Yum πŸ™‚

These recipes are perfect for the fall and winter months when you want a warm, hearty meal, but I really enjoy these kinds of meals all year-round. I love me some warm kabocha squash in the middle of the summer! πŸ™‚

Kabocha Squash with Azuki Beans (Adapted from The Kind Diet)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Kabocha squash, washed and chopped into about 1-inch, large pieces
  • 2 (15.5-oz. cans) azuki beans

Directions:

  1. Place the beans in a large soup pot, then add enough water to cover the beans by 1 inch. Add kabocha squash and bring to a boil, covered.
  2. Once boiling, reduce to a simmer and cook about 30 minutes, or until the squash is clearly soft and everything comes together when stirring (kind of like a casserole).
  3. Serve, and enjoy! πŸ™‚

That dish in particular was not very pretty, let me tell you, but it was the most delicious thing I’ve had in a hot long time.

Breakfast this morning was a giant plate of fresh fruit. I woke up awfully late and didn’t get to run, so I had a half a grapefruit with strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, cherries, and my detox tea in my favorite Pooh mug πŸ™‚ I forgot how refreshing just having fresh fruit for breakfast is!

I. love. cherries. And these were still attached! Awe πŸ™‚

Today is my day off from race training (so sore!), so I’m gonna do some yoga with my yoga-teacher Mom in our living room later this morning! Aren’t I a lucky ducky?

Then, I have orientation at work later this afternoon. I am so excited! I probably shouldn’t be excited for work, but I think it might be fun πŸ™‚

Have a beautiful day, lovlies!

xoxox,

Katelyn

12 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

12 responses to “Living the Kind Life

  1. You are the cutest thing EVER πŸ™‚ I am LOVING the t-shirt, I need to get my hands on one of those πŸ™‚ Congrats on the job – and I look forward to continuing to follow your blog sweets πŸ™‚ xoxo

    • Awe, thank you so much!! It’s comments like yours that make me smile πŸ™‚ You can find the t-shirt at Delia’s, they still sell them online and in the stores..on sale! 12 dolla.
      And thank you so much, you are too sweet! I was actually just looking at your blog, it’s so cute and the muffins look scrumptious πŸ™‚

  2. geraldgi

    Hey Love! Oh my goodness, this quinoa sounds so wonderful! I have a slight obsession with quinoa for dinner lately, I love it!

    xxoo

  3. Pingback: Busy Bee « Chef Katelyn

  4. Pingback: Earn Your Stripes « Chef Katelyn

  5. Pingback: Happy Bunny Bunny Day! « Chef Katelyn

  6. Pingback: Chocolate for health.. and for breakfast! « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  7. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough for Breakfast « Chef Katelyn

  8. Pingback: Homemade Peanut Butter Cups « Chef Katelyn

  9. Pingback: Summer days.. drifting away « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  10. Pingback: Hocus Pocus in the midst of Autumn « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

Leave a Reply

