Busy Bee

Good morning lovlies! Hope everyone had a nice evening 🙂

I had a pretty relaxed one filled with leftover kabocha squash with azuki beans, savory quinoa, and roasted brussels sprouts, my favorite! (halve brussels, preheat to 350F, place cut-side down on EVOO’d baking sheet, drizzle with EVOO and sea salt, roast for 15 minutes) Mmm 🙂

This morning I woke up bright and early – at 6:15 am! – to check email, hydrate, and go for my run. At first I was kind of sluggy and not motivated, but then I turned on the Today show and started my workout. Since I’m training for a 5K (hopefully I’ll be able to do 5K by the race!), I did an endurance workout I saw online last night, but tailored it to make it a bit harder.

I did a 5 minute jogging warmup, stretching before and after, then repeats of 5 minutes running and 1 minute powerwalking, then a 5-minute walking cooldown. Total, I logged 30 minutes and 2.25 miles. Not bad! I felt good, so I’m going to keep up with the running/walking workouts and build up my endurance. Of course I stretched forever and then did my abs!

By the way, I do not have any fancy workout gear. I don’t like spending money on much other than a good pair of sneakers and running shorts, so this is my daily attire 🙂

Watch I got at Target in the 3rd grade. No joke

With a "new" band 🙂 2 dolla velcro!

My sneaks 🙂 Asics alll the way, baby!

The usual

On the Today show this morning, I was shocked by one of the stories – a girl named Phoebe Prince who had recently moved to a new town was being harassed by a group of kids in her high school, and couldn’t take it anymore, so she committed suicide. Sad, right? I felt awful for this girl, and couldn’t believe that kids could be so cruel. Normal emotions, right?

Well, a reporter came onto the show and talked about how a giant story had emerged that Phoebe had been a giant bully/harasser at her previous private school in Ireland, and had been on antidepressants for a long time, somehow making the harassment not as bad since she “already had problems”.

Now, where do people get off talking about a poor girl who just killed herself like that? Phoebe’s friends and family are probably completely distraught, and in all this madness, the people harassing her are looking for a way out with use of this story. It’s terrible.

What do you think of the way they’re handling this story?

I’m honestly pretty disgusted that people would try to compensate what they did by “victimizing the victim”. Read more about Phoebe’s story here.

Okay, enough with the sad. Onto happier things! 🙂 My brekkie this morning was so yummy, filled with 1/2 a grapefruit, oatmeal, and tons of berries since I love them so much 🙂

Of course, no morning is complete without some Yogi tea.

Time for me to go get ready for the day! I have a long list of things to do (yes, I make a list for myself every night before bed 🙂 )

Have a good day everyone!! Try not to be too busy 🙂

Question of the Day: What’s your morning routine like? How do you make it more efficient?

I look forward to hearing your tips 🙂

xoxox,

Katelyn

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegan

3 responses to “Busy Bee

  1. That’s horrible how they’re handeling the story! Why would they turn it around on her? I mean even if it true, suicide’s a devestating situation- there’s absolutely no reason to make her seem like she deserved it or something.

    My morning routine’s usually get up, have breakfast, go to school/stables depending..and then on from there. But now it’s getting switched around to fit in early morning workouts- so glad they’re back!!

    • I know! Absolutely horrible. It was quite a hot topic at my dinner table tonight!
      That sounds so relaxing!! I love horse-back riding. My friend has a farm and I love putting on an old pair of jeans with some muddy boots 🙂 And same! These early morning workouts are actually very refreshing now that I’ve gotten back into the swing of things, I’m so glad you enjoy them too! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Earn Your Stripes « Chef Katelyn

Leave a Reply

