Sunday with the Fam

It’s another rainy Sunday in our neck of the woods, and I loooove it 🙂 Yes, it’s chilly, and yes, it’s slightly muggy, but I love a good, relaxing day filled with activities accented by hearty meals and a warm cup of tea.

So this morning, I overslept about an hour (the rain gets me every time!), so I had to whip up breakfast and pop it in the oven, then squeeze my workout and shower into the 45 minutes of cooking time. Oh boy. Throw a challenge at a girl, and this is the one you pick? I was not looking for a hectic morning. But thankfully, everything came together beautifully.

I ran .9-something of a mile, not any more, for the very devastating reason that my treadmill blew a fuse just as my mile was about to be done! Boooo. So I ran upstairs, showered, and came down to prepare brekkie for the fam 🙂

Strawbs, blackberries, cherries, apple spread, and nut butters for topping:

Mmm, my famous Apple-Cinnamon-Raisin Muffies in baked oat form 🙂

My plate, pre- giant spoonful of apple spread. After that, there was no mercy on these oats.

They were so perfectly crispy on top and gooey and warm in the middle, packed with cinnamon-y apple-raisin goodness. It’s like oats taken to a whole new level! I will be making these on a much more regular basis. With plenty of variations to come, of course 🙂

I was inspired by Jackie‘s recipe, and changed it around a ton and made it a more breakfast-y and moist version of my muffies.

Apple Cinnamon Raisin Baked Oats

(Adapted from Carolina Vogue‘s Baked Overnight Oats)

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups rolled or old-fashioned oats
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened, natural applesauce
  • LOTS of cinnamon! At least 2 tsp., add more to your liking (I like more 🙂 )
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 apple, cored and diced (Cameo is my favorite!)
  • 1 heaping tbsp. almond butter
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 tsp. NuStevia powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a 7×11 or 9×9 casserole dish.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl, then add wet ingredients and mix, mix, mix!
  3. Pour it all into a casserole dish and even out with a spoon, then pop in the oven for 45 minutes and let cool for 5-10 minutes (it needs to firm an eeensy bit).
  4. Then cut into squares and enjoy! 🙂

These are incredibly low-calorie and loaded with fruit, whole grains, protein, fiber, and good fats that kept me full for a looong time 🙂

After brekkie, we went to church and then to the local farmer’s market. Unfortunately, I forgot about the farmer’s market until we were already at church, so no camera was on hand; next week I’ll deliver the goods.

But, we did pick up these goodies! We’ll be feasting on yummy things for awhile 🙂

Heirloom tomatoes, giant beets (my fave!), crab apples, apples with "strawberry" in their name (no joke), dill pickles, and raw almond buttah!

I love me some almond buttah 🙂

They also had cashew, sunflower seed, and peanut buttah, but that will have to be for another weekend 🙂

The pickles were so good, esp. with my lunch sammie!

Crab apples! So sour, but I like

The strawburry apples

Did I mention I really like love heirloom tomatoes?

My lunch! We had a make-your-own-sammie Sunday, and I decided on Ezekiel 4:9 sprouted grain bread with my homemade hummus, cukes, celery, kale, and sprouts; pickles and daikon on the side 🙂

Slight camera fail

Crunch, crunch 🙂

Ahh, now it’s time to relax with my books and some tea 🙂 My new favorite is Yogi Ginseng Vitality. I love it because it has cinnamon and lots of antioxidant-filled herbs.

For dinner, tonight’s Pizza Night! Followed with our first time having vegan chocolate-chip cookies 🙂 I may have been vegan for awhile, but I can only make so many desserts! I can’t wait to try them.

Have a cozy afternoon lovlies! See you after dinner 🙂

xoxox,

Katelyn

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

3 responses to “Sunday with the Fam

  1. Jaclyn

    That is genius!! Looks delicious 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Walnut Overnight Oats Breakfast Pastry « carolina vogue

Leave a Reply

