On Facing Judgement

Good afternoon lovlies!

Today has been a very relaxing day. I slept in again (oopsie!), missing my morning run and waking up plenty hungry! So, I whipped up a variation of my favorite brekkie: an organic farmer’s market champagne strawberry apple (I’m not joking, that’s the name!) and my known favorite, Bob’s Red Mill Creamy Buckwheat cereal with half a chopped up Cinnamon Bun Katebar mixed in while it was still cooking 🙂 Mmm, gooey cinnamon goodness! Of course, topped with some fresh bluebs:

Before becoming melty goodness 🙂

Since I missed my morning run and immediately got a call to pick up my Driver’s Ed forms, I decided to have an active rest day and walk to the school and back. I ended up walking it about 4 times over! I chatted with some neighbors for a bit (love my neighbors. such sweet people! 🙂 ), caught up with my school counselor (here’s a shout out to you Mrs. Bourne! love you!), and stopped at the library for a bit to pick up some mags since my VegNews has yet to arrive! I can’t wait for it to come 🙂

On my walking journey today, I also ran into a couple girls from school that I haven’t seen all summer and one of them promptly exclaimed, “Wow, you’re looking skinny!”

Now, I get this comment all the time when I see people that I haven’t seen in awhile – aka, since before I went vegan. Usually they’re enthusiastic and supportive and want to know more, but instead I got a “Really, vegan? And you’re still a vegan…?” I responded with, “Yeah! It’s so great and not hard at all, all of the food is so good!” …no response.

Well! Now I have had my first encounter with an awfully judgy omnivore.

Mind you, this girl is super nice and we’ve always gotten along really well, so this is in no way attempting to make her look like a bad person.

The only part about these kinds of responses to veganism is that I always end up thinking to myself, “How can this person be so unaware?” And by unaware, I mean not only of the health benefits, but also the kindness it shows to animals and the Earth. I try to never judge anyone else’s choices in food, and I suppose I just expect the same in return.

Have you ever had an experience with having your eating habits being judged?

Also on my journey, I saw something that made me smile: a Smartcar with the license plate “ITSMYSUV“.

Haha 🙂

You like the irony? Me too.

Time to go catch up on my summer reading and get ready for dinner-making! See you after dinner 🙂

xoxox,

p.s. You may have noticed that I didn’t document any lunch today – never fear, lovlies! I don’t skip meals. Since I didn’t work out and had my breakfast around 11:30 (aka, Breakfast for Brunch), I am just getting hunger pangs now. Time for a snackypoo!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegan

15 responses to “On Facing Judgement

  1. Jaclyn

    I know how you feel, it can be really awkward when someone makes a comment like that. And other people’s unawareness is definitely something that immediately pops into my head, as well, when someone passes judgment on my choices. Good point 🙂

  2. finallyvegan

    Yep, being judged sometimes is a pain in the neck… At least most people around me have a little respect, but there are still some who keeps saying “come on, that absurd! you need meat! Don’t be so radical… it’s not good…”
    Yeah, yeah… I get what you mean and I think the same way! ^^

    Btw, could you please teach me what is that that you make for breakfast? I didn’t understand what is that under the fruits… I got so curious… It seems smashed bananas or something… ^^

    take care! I’m gonna run in an hour! /o/

    • Sure! It’s Bob’s Red Mill Creamy Buckwheat Cereal with a Cinnamon Bun Katebar chopped up and mixed in, topped with the bluebs. Hope that helps! 🙂

  3. Sadly you will face a lot of people questioning you. If you are solid in your convictions, then hopefully you can teach them something. There are a lot of vegan myths out there and sometimes people need re-educating. Sometimes people do “dabble” in veganism so to stick with it does take strength.

  4. Thanks for the visit and comment to my blog today. the shot of your apple looks so pretty and perfect! Great b’fast too! it is sad that many people don’t get the vegan thing (let alone vegetarian). Oh well. Lead by example I suppose. I’m sure you gave your friend some “food for thought”. Maybe not now but down the road. 🙂

  5. Yes we get judged with how we eat all the time. It is sad how others are so quick to judge and not be more open minded! But that is awesome that you stood up for yourself and stayed true to your ways 🙂

  6. Awfully Judgy Omnivore

    Hey, it’s the aforementioned friend. Sorry my lack of response equated to judgement- twas not my intention

  7. You sound like an awfully judgy herbivore.

    • I apologize if you feel that way, but I am not at all. Only one other family member of mine is a vegan, and I have no vegan or vegetarian friends – I never judge or make comments. In fact, I stated that in the post. I love all of my friends, family, and strangers equally, regardless of their dietary preferences. It’s not my choice to decide how anyone eats, nor is it my place to judge or make comments, and I abide by that philosophy wholeheartedly. Thank you for the opportunity to express my philosophy, though!

  8. Fred

    I respect you. When I grow up I wanna be a vegan. Like meat is for LOZERSS. When I wanna grow up I want someone to kill all the animals in the world with the poisonous gases from ww2 so that no one can eat them anymore

Leave a Reply

