My Life in Food

Good morning lovlies! Sorry for the lack of posting lately – busy busy! I’ve been catching up with friends, work, and getting ready for school starting next week. Oh boy.

I’ve had a yummy past few days of meals. Let’s have a look ย ๐Ÿ™‚

A snacky snack. Isn't hummus the greatest?

Lunch a few days ago! Tons of raw veggies (I had a tummyache) and leftover Spaghetti Squash Primavera ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and VegNews for dessert.

Like my big girl lunchbox? Me too ๐Ÿ™‚

My other favorite tea mug ๐Ÿ™‚

Possibly the greatest heirloom tomater I've ever seen.

A friend of mine was coming for din din a couple of nights ago, so of course I had to make my famous Spinach Pie! I paired it with some Black Jimaca Rice from Lundberg Farms and Brussels Sprouts – my killer combo.

Mmmm ๐Ÿ™‚

And of course, there was a little left for lunch! I saved some for today, too. I know, I’m a sneakster.

Then for din din, I whipped up some Great Northern Beans with Mushrooms, some Parsnip Fries, sauteed daikon and carrots, and leftover black jimaca rice. It was a sweet night ๐Ÿ™‚ The poor parsnips got a little overdone (thank you, 3 things on the stove at once!), but they were delicious despite their charred appearance. Next time I’ll be paying more attention to the fries, and less to the stove!

Parsnip Fries

Ingredients:

  • Parsnips, amount depending on how many fries you want (I used about 3)
  • EVOO
  • Sea salt
  • Pepper to taste (I don’t like peppa, so I didn’t use any)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. Slice parsnips in half lengthwise, then slice into fry-like sticks about 1/4-1/2 inch wide.
  3. Place on a baking sheet and toss and coat with about 2 tbsp. EVOO and sprinkled with sea salt.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown, tossing halfway through and checking every 5 minutes or so for the last 15.

The fries were so good, and perfectly sweet. I may have snuck a few a few handfuls after dinner…

I will definitely be trying squash, sweet potato, and carrot fries in the near future (yes, carrot fries!). Ahh vegetables, so versatile ๐Ÿ™‚

Great Northern Beans with Mushrooms

Ingredients:

  • EVOO
  • 1/2 of a small red onion, diced
  • about 6 baby bella mushrooms, washed and sliced
  • 2 handfuls TVP
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1.5 cups great northern beans
  • a pinch of sea salt

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, heat about 2 tbsp. EVOO over medium heat and then add diced onion.ย Sautรฉย until transparent, and then add mushrooms andย sautรฉย until reduced.
  2. Add water and TVP and allow to cook for about 2 minutes, then add beans and a pinch of sea salt. Cook until thoroughly heated and flavors have been absorbed.
  3. Serve and enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

This dish was perfect for the cool night we were having, and filled me right up. This was my first time trying and cooking with TVP (textured vegetable protein), and I liked it – slightly meaty texture but without the meat! Vegans and non-vegans alike would enjoy this good source of protein. Plus, beans are unrivaled in the protein ring, and ‘shrooms are my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

KATEBARS:

I also had some time to make some more Katebars…but this time, Apple Pie!

Apple Pie Katebars

Makes 5

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 + half of 1/3 cup almonds
  • half of 1/3 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup dates
  • 1/4 cup dried apple
  • 1/8 cup raisins
  • cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, pulse nuts until no whole nuts are left.
  2. Add dates, dried apple, raisins, and a generous sprinkling of cinnamon (don’t be shy!). Pulse until no whole dates are left and it is beginning to form a ball.
  3. Place in a bowl and knead it with your hands (the fun part ๐Ÿ™‚ ) until it’s all totally combined. Place on a wax sheet of paper and flatten, then divide into 5 bars.
  4. Using your hands, make the bars look very bar-like and then wrap in saran wrap or wax paper.
  5. Refrigerate until ready to eat, and then eat alone, in your hot cereal, or crumbled on anything else. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

As usual, this morning the Katebar went straight into my favorite brekkie:

Mmmm, gooey cinnamon morning bliss ๐Ÿ™‚ With a new friend – a fresh papaya on the side! I’ve never had non-dried papaya before, so this was a treat. I love my tropical fruits!

That’s all for now, lovlies! I’m off to work. Today’s a rest day, so I’ll be reading some VegNews and indulging in some vegan desserts ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s your favorite part of rest days? Do you believe in “active” rest or just relaxing?

xoxox,

6 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan

6 responses to “My Life in Food

  1. Pingback: There’s nothing better than.. vegan mac and cheese and homemade lara bars! « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  2. Pingback: Beet Still My Heart « Chef Katelyn

  3. Becca

    Hey i found your site (which is so cute!)through oh she glows lol….i was wondering what is black jimaca rice? Oh I can’t wait to make the katebars!

    • Awe thank you!! Let me know how they turn out ๐Ÿ™‚

      The black jimaca rice is from a brand called Lundberg Farms, you can most likely find it in a square-shaped bag in a natural foods store, whole foods, or the natural foods section of your supermarket. Hope that helps! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Happy Bunny Bunny Day! « Chef Katelyn

  5. Pingback: Reader’s Request: My Go-To Snacks + Meals On-The-Go! | Chef Katelyn

Leave a Reply

