Beet Still My Heart

I am speechless. Today has been a beyond beautiful day (hit 90 degrees! finally, it feels like summer again), with beyond beautiful things – I woke up before the sun (ahhh, thank you alarm clocks!) to get up and run before work, and I logged the farthest I’ve ran since I started running again – 3.85 miles! (you can see my workouts here)

I’ve been using the Jeff Galloway method of run-walking, and it’s been a success so far! I feel better and can run longer, plus, it’s great for training for my 5K 🙂 (a week from today…ahh! so nervous) Which, by the way, my daddy has decided to run with me! Awe, I love CK Dad. Such a great father, and has also run numerous marathons, including the Boston Marathon (twice!). Am I a lucky daughter or what?

Question: Ever since I started running again, I’ve noticed my legs looking normal when I wake up, but then swelling throughout the day – is this normal for when I’m building endurance/training? It’s so strange! Maybe I’m bulking up 🙂

Please let me know if you have any experience with that or know what’s going on, because the rest of me would like to know! Oh, the joys of race training.

BREAKFAST:

After my morning butt-whooping of a workout, I needed some serious fuel. I whipped up a variation of my favorite brekkie, complete with half a grapefruit, bluebs, blackberries, with the main event, a chopped up Apple Pie Katebar (as usual, mixed in just as the buckwheat is finishing cooking). Oh, gooey goodness, you should be illegal.

You can see the Katebar peeking out! All warm and mixed 🙂

LUNCH:

Lunch was the Happiest, Healthiest Vegan Mac and Cheese from last night (midnight snack? I think yes) along with a kale salad mixed with sliced heirloom tomaters and some sautéed broccoli from last night, topped with a generous helping of Bragg’s. It is very rare you will ever see one of my salads sans some of that dressing – it’s just too good.

The day at work was so fun (as usual) – I am such a dork for loving work, but I don’t mind 🙂 I’ll be working maximum hours from now on, thank goodness! I’ll be super busy, but it means some money in my pocket, some happy customers, and me, a happy camper 🙂

DINNER:

Dinner tonight was to die for. I think my stomach applauded me after each bite, saying “Thank you! You’re the best eater ever!” – well, if stomachs could talk, that’s what mine would have said.

On the menu tonight was a Spinach and Chickpea Delight inspired by OhSheGlows, a Beet Still My Heart Farmer’s Market Salad, Amy’s California Burgers (oh. my. god. if you have not had these, you must run to your grocery store and get some! my lifelong favorite), and sautéed daikon and carrots from a night or so ago.

Since today was a scorcher, I didn’t want to have too much of a hot dinner, so everything was nice and cool for din din except for the burgers. My tummy was very happy 🙂

Spinach and Chickpea Delight

Ingredients:

  • 2 (15.5-oz) cans, or 3 cups cooked, chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • EVOO (about 2 tbsp.)
  • 4 large handfuls fresh, baby spinach (about 4 to 5 cups)
  • 1/2 cup marinara or tomato sauce (I used Amy’s Low Sodium Marinara – it’s my favorite!)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 red onion, diced (only if there isn’t some in your sauce)
  • sea salt and pepper to taste (I didn’t need any because of the marinara)

Directions:

  1. In a large, heavy-bottomed skillet, combine EVOO, marinara sauce, minced garlic, red wine vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste.
  2. Turn on the burner to medium heat and then add chickpeas and spinach. Stir continuously until coated, and then let cook until spinach is wilted, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes.
  3. Serve and enjoy! 🙂

This dish was just absolutely divine. There is no two ways around it – I tasted it and I’m pretty sure my mind exploded (not to toot my own horn, but…toot toot! 🙂 ). I will be making this again. (and again, and again..)

It was super simple and beyond delicious, a killer combo. It would also be good with some diced heirloom tomatoes or some crusty bread – mmm 🙂

Oh, be still my heart – this recipe is too simple to be true! But, oh, it is so much more than that.

Chock-full of beta-carotene among other health benefits, beets are sweet, delicious, and awfully refreshing. Even better when paired with some farmer’s market heirloom tomatoes!

Beet Still My Heart Farmer’s Market Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 lbs. beets, with stems removed and scrubbed
  • 1 lb. heirloom tomatoes, chopped (or if smaller, quartered)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Wrap each beet individually with aluminum foil and place on a baking sheet and roast for 1 hour.
  3. Allow to cool and then peel each beet using a paper towel – the skins should come off easily.
  4. Chop beets into 1/2-inch chunks and toss in a large bowl with tomatoes.
  5. Serve and enjoy! 🙂

My plate:

Of course, my California burger was sans a bun. I love these things plain (with some marinara or OrganicVille Agave-Sweetened ketchup) – no other way to enjoy something so delicious!

And for dessert, I had to try out the Tempt Hempmilk ice cream I picked up earlier today – I’ve been itching to buy it for awhile, but for some reason never did.

I think I can describe this ice cream by this statement: I am never going back to soy ice cream! (gasp!) Seriously. This stuff is so creamy, and healthy to boot – hempmilk is loaded with healthy fats, and this baby isn’t filled with refined sugars, saturated fats, and a giant list of ingredients. It was amazing paired with some fresh bluebs and strawberries (none of which made it into a picture – I couldn’t help myself).

Not too shabby!

Alongside my giant stock of fruit: pomegranates, papaya, organic pink lady apples, peaches and plums 🙂

I don’t mess around with my fruit.

In other news, I’ve been getting excited/nervous/starting to dread the first day of fall semester. Excited because of all of the great classes I’ll be taking (with the best teachers! I am too lucky), nervous because I’ll have such a crazy schedule, and starting to dread it because I know what my workload/lack of sleep will look like – I’m thinkin’ lots of Kombucha to keep me energized!

I’ve been brewing my own, and have been drinking some every couple of days – it is so perfect and fizzy, sweet and sour at the same time. I’ll be posting pictures and my method of brewing soon 🙂

What are your thoughts on the start of school? Are you in college or high school, and how has it been, or do you think it will be, different to start college after high school?

That’s all for tonight lovlies! All around, today was wonderful – I hope your day was too! Enjoy the rest of your evening 🙂 Aka, the Emmys!

xoxox,

10 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Vegan, Workouts

10 responses to “Beet Still My Heart

  1. Seriously LOVING your blog. I’ll be blogging my way through the 21-day Vegan Kickstart as of 9/11/10–I’ve been referring your blog right and left it seems. Can’t wait to try out some of your recipes!

    • Good for you!! That is so great, it’s the best decision you’ll ever make 🙂 It makes me so happy that it’s been so helpful! If you ever want any advice on veganism, recipes, nutrition, etc. I would be more than happy to help you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Time to Get Saucy « Chef Katelyn

  3. Pingback: Happy Bunny Bunny Day! « Chef Katelyn

  4. Pingback: Homemade Peanut Butter Cups « Chef Katelyn

  5. Pingback: Summer days.. drifting away « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  6. Pingback: Hocus Pocus in the midst of Autumn « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  7. Pingback: Back In the Saddle : For Sweets Sake

  8. Pingback: C’est la vie. « 14yearoldvegan's Blog

  9. Pingback: Bad and Good « Little Miss Healthify

Leave a Reply

