Snappin’ Back to Reality

I’M BACK! No, I didn’t fall off the face of the Earth – but I bet it seemed that way. You can thank early-admissions applications and AP’s for that business.

I’ve been driver’s ed-ing, doing loads of schoolwork, and of course, participating in lovely senior year activities such as homecoming and pep rallies 🙂

But hey, there’s been some cooking too! There’s just never time to photograph my foodin’s anymore, unfortunately.

By the way, this is purely a segway post! Aka, I’ll be back in the normal-posting game soon enough (hopefully). I might try a few vlogs a la Meg once in awhile. Would that be something you guys would like? Let me know! What do you guys want to see on the blog?

Also, this blog is going to become much more about lifestyle, health, and everyday happenings – but don’t you fret, there will be plenty of food! Like vegan pizza..

IMG_2981Chocolate-Peanut-Butter Cupcakies 🙂

IMG_2999Nicaraguan food! And burritos..

IMG_3021Getting a looooovely taste of fall with Pumpkin-Walnut-Chocolate-Chip Bars

IMG_3026And refueling like mad after spinning class yesterday! I hadn’t stepped into a spinning class in maybe six months, but I said to myself, “Girl, something’s gotta give!”. Besides, I was getting the itch to get back into the class-taking game. What can I say? It’s utterly addictive 🙂

So, I said thank you to my legs for not being torn apart by class (which I honestly thought they would) with this motha:

IMG_3039That’s what I like to call a Berry High-Protein Smoothie (in a bowl). Get it? Berry high protein? HA I’m laughing at my own joke..wait, that was a joke.

You see, I can’t drink smoothies from a cup, or anything tasty with a straw. It’s gone in about 5 seconds, and I’m thinking to myself, now what sneakster drank my smoothie! So, into the bowl they go. Every yummy spoonful 🙂

Berry High Protein Smoothie

Into the blenda went:

  • 1 cup (approximately) of berries of your choice. I used strawbs, bloobs, raspberries, and blackburries
  • 1 scoop Vega Sport vanilla-flavored protein powder (SO good)
  • 2 tbsp. peanut butter (give or take..more is better for me!)
  • a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 5 ice cubes
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum

And then blend, baby, blend! The xanthan gum gives it the spoonable texture that I love so much. No runny smoothies for me!

Licked the bowl clean 🙂

IMG_3043

Paired with half a grapefruit and an apple, this was the perfect brekkie. Class was amazing, and I was speedy! Despite the fact that I only work out a few times a week and I hadn’t taken spinning since like..the spring..I kicked serious a$$. In a class where I used to die and sweat bullets and barely be able to breathe, it’s almost effortless. Barely sweating, breathing perfectly, legs spinnin’ like a spinna. (ew, Katelyn, stop trying to make up your own words…)

The instructor also was amazing. I had never taken her class before, and she was so cool, chill, and played the best music. Plus, she was completely enjoying teaching the class..she was kicking even more a$$ than I was!

My gym is also getting new spinning bikes come January – we only have one so far, and it is beee-EAU-tiful my friends! Sleek, silver, and has a computerized screen with which you can change the resistance level about a million times easier than with the dinky ol’ dials. I can’t even contain my excitement.

My next class to get back into? Body pump! Despite how bored I got doing it 3 times a week, every week, for a whole year…I’m actually beginning to miss supersets of squats and triceps…and the crazy muzak they use (aka, fake versions of all the songs you hear on the radio). But we love it anyway.

Question of the Day: What are your favorite classes at the gym? Or are you not a class person? What’s your favorite exercise?

That’s all until later, lovlies! I’ll be spending a lovely evening out to dinner with my mama 🙂 It’s mother-daughter night!

xoxox,

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

p.s. Got THE cutest scarves at the Public Market today..pictures up next time! 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vegan

6 responses to “Snappin’ Back to Reality

  1. Awww yay for you getting back into blogging 🙂 I’m sure the start of your senior year has been crazyyy!

    I like spinning classes, too, but lately I’ve been on a yoga kick!

  2. Glad to see you back 🙂
    I like pilates classes the best, I think!

    • Thank you so much!! I haven’t taken a pilates class in ages, which is ironic since my Mom is a pilates and yoga instructor! I need to get back on that bandwagon 🙂

  3. Glad your back! The cupcakes and burrito look heavenly 🙂

Leave a Reply

