We have a mouse problem.

This is not a joke. I repeat, this is not a joke.

I may love animals and think that itty bitty mice can occasionally be cute, but we have mice that are taking my Mary’s Gone Crackers out of the box…through the front panel.

I think I may have a freaky genius on my hands.

Yep, total freaky genious.

^^ Yup, total freaky genius.

Then, during my run two days ago, I spotted an itty bitty baby mouse on a glue trap we had set out (I was not happy with my parents for this), and it was still breathing. I was nearly in tears, lovlies 😦 I couldn’t handle it. Then, I saw another one on the other side of my basement! Let’s just say it was a rough morning.

Plus, we learned that we have a family of mice in our house! Later that night, CKMom found another mouse..in our trash can! And caught it by hand (accompanied by some screaming, but it’s notabigdeal). What a champ 🙂

But despite all that, this morning was loooovely. I was hungry right when I woke up (I usually never am), and all I wanted was peanut butter and bananas. Nothing else. So I whipped up this bowl of yum 😉

IMG_3074

Peanut Buttah and Banana Oats

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Bring liquid to a boil, then reduce to medium heat and add oats. Cook for about 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. When oats are about to be done cooking, mash up the banana and microwave for 15-30 seconds, until hot, mushy, and smelling really good 🙂
  3. Add banana to oats before they are fully cooked, and combine.
  4. When oatmeal is done cooking, cover and remove from heat for a few minutes.
  5. Serve and top with peanut buttah! 🙂

IMG_3076Lots of peanut buttah.

IMG_3075Not as pretty when all mixed up, though…but waaaay tastier!

IMG_3079This was too good. And super simple. Sometimes simplest is best 🙂 I enjoyed this as breakfast in bed (while reading VegNews, obvs), which was so nice considering I’ve been feeling under the weather and had to stay home today.

Not too long after, I got hungry again and decided it was time to lose my Green Monster virginity. (gasp!)

Honestly, I don’t know why I’ve never made one before, but it was time. Plus, I felt like I needed some greens!

Of course, I had to roll In-A-Bowl style. I don’t do smoothies in a glass – as I’ve mentioned before, it would be gone in about T-minus .049712301 seconds.

Behold, my first green monstah! 🙂

IMG_3085And yes, it too was made with berries..and is high-protein!

Berry High-Protein Green Monster

Ingredients:

And blend, baby, blend!

IMG_3084I enjoyed mine straight outta the bowl, as per usual. And as you can see, it was slightly overflowing..just the way I like it 🙂

IMG_3083Sometimes my favorite foods are the ugliest ones 🙂 I love how the seeds in the berries add a yummy crunch to the smoothie. This was the perfect snackety-snack!

It got in mah belly.

That’s all for now, lovlies! I hope everyone’s had a great day so far 🙂

xoxox,

Signature

23 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Uncategorized, Vegan

23 responses to “We have a mouse problem.

  1. Peanut butter and banana oats are my favorite.
    Good luck with the mouse/mice!

  2. etk122

    Glad to see you’re back in the blogging world!

  3. That would freak me out so bad! I’ve never come across a mouse in my house thank goodness.

  4. I just tried peanut butter in oats. Good stuff. Glad you are on the green smoothie bandwagon.

    Here’s an option for a humane trap. I’ve used this and it worked.
    http://www.amazon.com/Smart-Mouse-Trap-Humane-Mousetrap/dp/B000YFA7HW

  5. mmmmm I love green monsters! I don’t know if I could do it bowl style though.

  6. Aww, I’m sad for the Mouse family but they do need to get out of your home :/ Burrrr, I would definitely FLIP out if I saw a real life mouse in my house!

  7. HAHA I totally agree sometimes my favs are the ugly dishes 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed your GM!

  8. YOUR OATS ARE INCREDIBLE! that nut butter is to die for..

  9. I would be freaked out if I found a mouse in my apartment, but it would break my heart to see it hurt 😦

  10. Yeah girl, glad to see that you’re back to blogging! And ughhhh, I hate animal traps 😦 Hope you manage to get the rest of the mouse family out humanely.

    No other breakfast can top PB + banana oats. EVER.

    Have a great weekend!

  11. Pingback: Reader’s Request: My Go-To Snacks + Meals On-The-Go! | Chef Katelyn

Leave a Reply

