Gluten Free Orange-Cranberry Cookies

Good morning bloggie babes! I have a busy day ahead of me, so this post is going to be a quickie.

First of all, you all should know how much of a messy eater I am. I’m talking food drippage in my hair, on my clothes (one of the many reasons I wear scarves..but then it just gets on those?), on my face, and on all of my class notes.

Exhibit A.

2011-01-07_11-50-00_892

My most recent (and not so obnoxious) stains.

You should see my bio notes.

Anywho, this morning I devoured a delicious [jar] of protein oats! Unforch, I forgot to take a picture (still getting back into the blogging thing..I was hungry). Into the jar went:

  • 1/2 cup GF rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond breeze
  • 1 melted banana
  • ~ 1 scoop Vega Sport vanilla protein powder (I am OBSESSED. Turns your oats green! Roarrr green power)
  • Topped with: blueberries, raspberries, and a good 2 tbsp. or so of almond buttah from the jar

Yummmay in mah belly:)

For your enjoyment, here’s a picture of a glorious bowl of oats I had a few days back (and actually got a picture! go me):

2010-12-27_11-59-21_656

Same oat-USVAB-banana combo as above, just with a toonnnn of PB and cacao nibs. Wassup, Elvis bowl!

Besides that, I’ve been snackety snacking on micro muffies. A microwaved muffin! Doesn’t get any better than that:)

2010-12-29_22-22-56_206Wanna make one? Do this:

Micro Muffie

In a normal bowl, mix:

  • 3 tbsp. flour, oats, oat bran, etc.
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • 1 tbsp. applesauce or oil
  • 1 tbsp. plus 1 tsp.  liquid (water, milk, etc.)
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • your choice of sweetener (I use stevia)
  • handful of mix-ins (raisins, chocolate chips, cacao nibs)
  • spices if desired (I used about 1/4 tsp. or so of cinnamon)

Mix it all together and nuke in a greased mug for 90 seconds, then pop out and let it cool, bottom side up (bottums up, bottums up…). It will firm up and not be so gooey, I promise:)

Top with nut butter or whateva you’re feeling, and devour! Nom nom 🙂

Okay, now for the cookies! I’ve been gluten-free since about September or October. It gives me awwwwful migraines and digestive and muscle pains, and since I’ve been off  of it, my symptoms have gone away. So, I’ve been experimenting with gluten-free baking as of late, and recently came up with these babies!

2010-12-31_22-57-21_327Sorry for the [awesome] picture quality..lately my Droid is my camera of choice:)

Gluten-Free Orange Cranberry Cookies

Makes about 14 cookies (it can easily be doubled)

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup almond flour (almond meal)
  • 1/3 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/4 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia baking blend (or sweetener of choice)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. orange extract
  • about 3 tsp. orange zest
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (I used dehydrated Whole Foods brand cranberries and soaked them in hot water for about 5-10 minutes)
  • about 2-3 tbsp. Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (eyeball this based on dryness/wetness of the batter)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix dry ingredients together in one bowl (except cranberries), and wet ingredients in another.
  3. Mix wet and dry together thoroughly, then fold in cranberries (if you followed my method of dehydrated-and-soaked, make sure you drain the water out well).
  4. Drop by the tablespoon onto greased cookie sheets, and flatten with the palm of your hand.
  5. Bake for about 7 to 12 minutes, or until the cookies are slightly golden on the edges.
  6. Try to not burn your tongue by eating one fresh outta the oven.

These were perfectly moist and delicious🙂 I froze about half of them so that I can pop one in the microwave every night and have a cookie “fresh out of the oven”. Soooo good! Last night I needed a snackety snack and topped one with almond butter…do it. Now.

I’m off to work on my Econ paper! I’ll be squeezing in a workout a bit later. Hopefully it’ll be a bit more organized than my hodgepodge from yesterday!

I think I have workout ADD…I kept going from elliptical to stair climber to treadmill and back around. Maybe today will be a spinning class🙂

Are you a messy eater?

Yes. I currently have oats on my bathrobe.

What’s your favorite way to eat oats?

With a melted banana, protein powder, almond butter, and berries:)

What’s your favorite dessert/cookie?

BROWNIES! And chocolate chip cookies (the gooey kind). And cake:) Does fruit count as dessert? Fruit + chocolate = super combo.

xoxox,

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

p.s. I totally lied, this was NOT a short post. I get carried away;)

25 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Uncategorized, Vegan

25 responses to “Gluten Free Orange-Cranberry Cookies

  1. I am such a snaker myself and these micro muffies and cranberry cookies sound sooo delectable and delish! Very nice

  2. ahh i love all your recipes!! i recipe stalked you yesterday and i there was not one single thing I wouldn’t eat-! my fav dessert- any raw treat!

  3. I’m SUCH a messy eater, its ridiculous!! I get stuff on my school books all the time, its embarrasing!
    BTW I sooo need to try almond flour!

  4. I feel ya on the messy eating. I can never EVER have a clean shirt by the end of the day. It just is impossible. Needless to say, I am always doing laundry!!

    Love the recipe!! Sounds delish. 🙂

  5. Ooh those micro-cookies look nifty! I need to try that!

  6. Those oats look so good. I love putting protein powder and pumpkin in my oats. So so good.

  7. Thanks for the article, I actually learned something from it. Really good content on this site. Always looking forward to new entry.

  8. Hey man, was just browsing on through the internet looking for some informations and videos and came across your blog. I am inspired by the information that you have on this blog. It shows how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this page, will come back for more. You, my friend, rock!

  9. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So good to find someone with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is something that is needed on the web, someone with somewhat originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  10. What turned you onto the idea that it was the gluten causing your troubles? Do you eliminate it completely? Did you see a Doctor or anyone?

    Just curious!

    The recipes look great!

  11. Pingback: Reader’s Request: My Go-To Snacks + Meals On-The-Go! | Chef Katelyn

  12. Pingback: Banana Bread Blondie Cake | Chef Katelyn

  13. made the micro muffie this morning-yum! i’ll post about it later today~thanks for the inspiration!

  14. Pingback: Mini muffins and people | thejaxoflife

  15. At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming over again to read further news.

  16. It’s awesome to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all friends about this piece of writing, while I am also keen of getting experience.

Leave a Reply

