The Lies We Tell Ourselves

I had a different post in mind for this morning (an update on my de-chipmunkingWinking smile), but a sermon I recently listened to at church has been on the brain and needs to let loose!

In all truthfulness, every single one of us has a lie that we tell ourselves.

Sometimes it comes from the media: “5 Tips to Lose 5 Pounds!” “Be skinny, beautiful, and happy!” A picture or a commercial creates a precedent in our minds.

Sometimes it comes from a loved one, a friend, or a rumor. “You would have been better off if you had done this instead.” “You should be more like your sister.” Someone spreading a rumor that you’re too fat, too skinny, stupid, or not good enough.

The worst ones come from ourselves. From self-doubt, self-pity, and words that be beat ourselves up with.

See something in common? All of these lies convince us that we are not good enough.

Not good enough to enjoy a beautiful meal with people we love.

IMG_2935

Not good enough to see the sun rise in the morning.

IMG_2938

Not good enough to smell the flowers, or eat the fake ones.

IMG_2974IMG_3211

Not good enough to make something sweeter than we are.

IMG_3232

But we are. We are strong,

me

We are beautiful,

sisters on my birfdayay

We are loved.

me em and tita editAnd that’s all that we need to know.

I’m crying as I type this because we all have had our own journey to where we are today, and sometimes that journey takes us places that are darker than others.

Some of us lie to ourselves in more hurtful ways than others, but today we are going to end that. Today we are going to know how worth it we are.

This morning I read aloud from Kris Carr’s book,

Please help me open my mind. Ignite my child-like curiosity and anything-is-possible attitude. Tap me on the shoulder if I act like a cranky old bat. The voices that hold me back are thoroughly misinformed. Grant me the wisdom to release them now. – Page 184

Repeat with me please:

I am capable, confident, intelligent, resilient, and in charge. Health and happiness are my birthrights and I accept with gratitude. – Page 184

I know this sounds cheesy, but we all need to remind ourselves how beautiful we are.

It’s easy to forget what we did do, and what we did accomplish, when what others and ourselves focus most on is what we didn’t or couldn’t do.

Take a moment to think today:

What lie are you telling yourself?

How can you change that lie into something positive that will allow you to grow, be stronger, and live more beautifully?

Lots of love,

Signature

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “The Lies We Tell Ourselves

  1. What a beautiful post Katelyn! I’ll repeat with you 🙂

    I am capable, confident, intelligent, resilient, and in charge. Health and happiness are my birthrights and I accept with gratitude. – Page 184

  2. Thanks for this post- I really needed the reminder today!

  3. What a lovely post. You are an amazing young lady. Such and inspiration.

  4. wonderful post Katelyn.. this really did get me thinking- i doubt myself ALL the time and get down on myself and this is something i really need to work on. thank you!

  5. Beautiful, Inspirational, and Tear-Jerking post. Your thoughts are {deep} and {meaningful}. God Bless~

  6. WOW!! This post was beautiful and just what I needed to read today! Thank you! Girl, you nailed it…these lies bring us down and we have every right to realize they are lies and enjoy every second of our lives! You are absolutely gorgeous. The media constantly tells me lies but luckily I am realizing faster and faster that they are lies. Seriously, loved this post! You are so beautiful inside and out!

  7. runyogarepeat

    This was a beautifully written & thought out post. I was feeling negative about having to come back to school after a great break, but now, I’m excited to see my friends again & start new classes. I’m even in a positive mindset to unpack & get organized for a new semester. Thanks for this awesome reminder! I’m going to post-it that quote at the end to put on my desk.

  8. What a great blog, and your post is so true!! Its a wonder how we love ourselves at all. What a great way to start a Sunday!!
    So glad I found your blog, Your absolutely gorgeous too!!
    Have a great day!
    Jenn

  9. Beautifully written my dear. Thanks for the reminder that I am worth it. So often we get caught up in the motions of the day and keep charging forward without taking a good look at ourselves and knowing that we are strong, confident and beautiful no matter who else puts us down.

  10. This was a great post! Thank you for all the inspiration at motivation. I always tell myself that I won’t be able to run X amount of miles, and it puts me down. I need to start having more confidence in my fitness abilities.

  11. This is a great blog entry. It is so hard to remember that we are beautiful and it takes a friendly reminder sometimes to not be so hard on ourselves.

    Thank-you for that reminder. You continually amaze me.

  12. I love you. 🙂 thank you for posting this.

  13. little racer

    This was a great post and really shows us that we are too hard on ourselves sometimes. Anyways….I hope you are recovering well and enjoying some soft-serve!

  14. This was beautiful, as are you! Have you been having a rough time lately or is this just a general reminder?
    Regardless, lots of hugs, and thank YOU for this reminder. I’ve been feeling a little low lately myself.


    n

  15. Hi Katelyn,
    i enjoy reading your blog! great post. i think a lie i tell myself is that my passions are somewhat futile and lack worth–as if they somehow need to have monetary reward to be worthy. this is a big lie, since anything positive and empowering is worth the time and energy 🙂

  16. Beautiful post hun! I always tell myself that when I feel alone and I tell myself “I am alone” I rethink it and say NO ” i am NOT alone, God is right here by me”.
    This reminded me of a book I read that I think you would love.

    It’s called Telling Yourself the Truth. http://www.amazon.com/Telling-Yourself-Truth-Depression-Principles/dp/0764223259

  17. You are a very wise young lady! Enjoy your post!

  18. I love this post–just found your blog. Immediately adding to Google Reader 🙂

  19. Katelyn, I LOVE your blog. Such a beautiful post…

    What a great affirmation from Kris Carr’s book. I need to write that down.

    I can’t wait to catch up on all of your previous posts. Consider me an avid reader now!

  20. What a beautiful and inspirational post! You are beautiful, inside & out, and that is NOT a lie 🙂

  21. I think this post is a home run. I’m going to buy that book today. Thanks for posting this, because I’m bookmarking it as we speak.

  22. Great post! I need to write both of those book excerpts on my mirror. I have a huge tendency to doubt my abilities which started sometime shortly after college graduation 3-1/2 years ago. It took me a year and a half of rejection to finally land a “real” job and it shook my confidence to the very core. To this day I’m still trying to fight my way back to a place of having faith in my abilities and a belief that anything is possible again. Thanks for the sweet reminder! 🙂

  23. People get so wrapped up in always trying to be this or that or whatnot- we often forget to stop and enjoy ourselves for everything that we are. Much love. 🙂

  24. How inspiring! – I really needed to read that. Thankyou<3
    It's a lie that im not good enough, We are ALL more than good enough. 🙂

  25. Such an awesome post, Katelyn!! I think we all need to remind ourselves of this every.single.day! 🙂 xoxo

  26. Aww, this brought me to tears, I’m such a baby! Katelyn thank you for posting this, I always forget how special and beautiful I am and I always take my health for granted.

  27. Hey Beautiful!!! This post really touched me today, thank you!

    I agree that we all lie to ourselves that hold us back from our true self love or greatness. I tell myself everyday in the mirror how beautiful I am and how loving I am. It was HARD at first, but I feel amazing since starting 🙂

    Keep up the amazing inspiring work my friend!!!

    xxoo

  28. Pingback: Mission: I Feel Pretty | Chef Katelyn

Leave a Reply

