Cookie Dough in a Bowl

Good morning lovies! Hope everyone’s had a bright and shiny start to their daySmile

I have discovered the ULTIMATE in breakfast foods.

Usually I roll with cooked oats, oats/oat bran mixtures, quinoa flakes, buckwheat, you get the gist, but I haven’t tried overnight versions since the summer.

Which turned out nast.

I couldn’t handle the texture of the overnight oats, it made me feel slightly sick, so I tried a mixture of ground oats and oat bran that rocked my world!

This morning: Berry Chocolate Cookie Dough in a Bowl.

Why do I not call this “overnight oats”, you may ask? It’s because I make them with ground oats/oat bran and mixed with very little water, allowing for a very chewy, dough-like texture. Major yum.

Mine may be green, but it is green with PRIDE.

IMG_3374Holy yumsky.

Berry Chocolate Cookie Dough in a Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1 serving ground oats, oat bran, or a mixture
  • 1 scoop Vega Sport Vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tsp. Navitas Naturals raw maca powder
  • 1 scoop Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood powder
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk or other liquid (water, milks, etc.), adding more as necessary to liquify just slightly (you still want it to be relatively thick)
  • Topped with: homemade raw almond butter (pictures to come!), cacao nibs, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries.

Directions:

  1. Mix dry ingredients in your brekkie bowl.
  2. Add liquid slowly, stopping just as the liquid is no longer absorbed into the dry ingredients. You still want the texture to be thick, but have some unabsorbed liquid that will allow the mixture to expand and thicken over night.
  3. Cover and refrigerate overnight (or for 1-2 hours, I checked on mine after a little over one hour and it was already all thickenedSmile)
  4. Top to your liking and devour!

Mixed as dry:

IMG_3357The next morning:

IMG_3369

 

 

 

 

This is seriously JUST like cookie dough! I meann, if you add berries to your cookies Winking smile And, the cacao nibs were a perfect chocolate chip-like addition, sans the sugar!

 

IMG_3379You could add anything here, including more chocolate powder (cocoa or raw cacao), chocolate chips, fruits, nuts, other nut butters, flax seeds, chia seeds (for a “pudding”, etc.! Go crazy.

Best part, is this breakfast is completely raw. I’ve been going as raw as possible lately, and it makes me feel so good and have so much more energy!

Usually I make it sans chocolate, which tastes like regular cookie dough. You can certainly omit the maca and use other protein powders, those are just my preferences and are by no means required for cookie dough-ness Smile

I had this con a GLORIOUS green smoothie:

IMG_3363

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recipe to comeSmile

Alrighty kiddos, I’m off to a raw food brunch! I know, I’m way excited Smile Veg juices + smoothies + raw crepes = get in mah belly.

Coming soon:

  • Raw brunch recap!
  • Gluten-Free Pizza for One
  • Mediterranean Mushroom-Artichoke Salad
  • COOKIES!
  • Mini Baked Falafels
  • My favorite basic green smoothie:)

Have a good day all! See you laterWinking smile

xoxox,

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

p.s. I TOTALLY dreamed of a closet full of scarves last night. It was heaven, obviously, since we all know that I am a scarf fiend Winking smile

26 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Vegan

26 responses to “Cookie Dough in a Bowl

  1. ooo i love whats coming soon! and I LOVE the cookie dough oat idea- YUM… PLEASE SHARE THAT GM RECIPE!! I CAN never get mine right :/

  2. This looks delicious!! Especially the berries on top. Yum!!

  3. You have such good food photography. What kind of camera do you use?

    I love love love anything with berries in it ha. I seriously hoard them all from my local grocery store.

  4. Okay, that sounds amazing, as does your food for the day – can’t wait to read and see pictures of how it was! =)

  5. Ok, it sounds so HEALTHY and amazing,but Im scared! I am still going to try it though. I have major texture issues…hahaha!!
    I love that you are eating lots of Raw foods! YUmmmy!! I want to be like that too!
    Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!
    Have a great day!

  6. Mmm I need to whip up some raw oats. Perhaps for dinner? Haha. Can’t wait for the gluten free pizza recipe. I have been eating less gluten and feel FANTABULOUS (no stomach aches/bloating) so this pizza could be a winner in my house. Enjoy your weekend!

  7. I’m always looking for tasty and healthy breakfast options. This one looks like it fits that bill!

  8. Okay, so I had my doubts, but I tried it this morning (used thawed strawberries and blueberries and put some Artisana Cocao Bliss on top)…major yum! =) Will be making it again tomorrow I do believe

  9. Anna

    This recipe sounds absolutely amazing! I am trying to be more of a raw-foodie as well. I’ve never tried Vega before but I’ve been reading great reviews about it. Where is a good place to buy it? I was thinking Whole Foods but is it only sold online?
    Thanks!

  10. bean

    This is AMAZING i just made this for breakfast tom. but it may not make it until then! SOO good. Thanks for the great recipes!!!

  11. Pingback: Reader’s Request: My Go-To Snacks + Meals On-The-Go! | Chef Katelyn

  12. Pingback: Easy as One, Two, Three! | Chef Katelyn

  13. Pingback: Indulgence Friday Fathoms! | Chef Katelyn

  14. applesnoats

    Yumsky is sooooo right!i haven’t tried amazing grass yet but it’s on my list next time I go to whole foods!then I’ll have I’ll have to make this lovely concoction:)

  15. Pingback: How To: Fit in Fitness | Chef Katelyn

  16. Pingback: So Refreshed (and So Clean, Clean?) « The Healthy Verdict

  17. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday! Numero Uno! « Fresh n' Fit

  18. Pingback: eating goals this week « RunSingTeach

  19. melissaontherun

    Okay I just made it and am eating it now….OBSESSED! You know what you’re doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

