Daily Archives: February 10, 2011

Let Your Garden Grow

Good morning love doves! Happy almost-FridaySmile

I’m so glad that y’all love carbs as much as I do! In case you missed it, I wrote a poem for carbs. You should probably check it out. You might pee yourself.

Just sayin’.

AAANYwho, ever since I’ve been going high-raw, I’ve been interested in funky sounding things like…sprouting.

So, I decided to take it for a whirl and try it for myself!

IMG_3567

Black quinoa and azuki beans.

IMG_3568

First, I soaked them both (uncovered) in their jars overnight.

Then, I covered each jar with a piece of cheesecloth, rinsed the quinoa and beans (to get rid of the digestive inhibitors that are released during soaking), and then propped the jars up at a 45-degree angle in a pan.

About every few hours, I rinse them and invert them again. This keeps them moist so the sprouty sprouts do their growing! Smile

IMG_3571

See the little bean sprout? ^^

Can I just say that sprouting is SO fun. I love seeing the little sprouties do their thang!

WAY more entertaining than cooking in a pot, let me tell you.

I feel like a gardener:)

And I love the crunch of sprouts – it’s so refreshing.

IMG_3569

IMG_3578IMG_3583IMG_3586

Want to try sprouting?

Here are some tips to get you started!

IMG_3588

Sprouting is a great method for the lazy-loos (like me), and those that like crunchiness.

The main appeal of sprouting, however, comes from the fact that everything remains raw and it much more easily assimilated in the raw, sprouted form.

The digestive inhibitors are released and washed away, and the starches, fats, and proteins are converted into their simplest, most easily digestible and usable forms.

That means less stress on your digestive system, and more energy for you to kick toosh on the Dreadmill!

Plus, I can never get enough crunchy goodness.

Have you ever tried sprouting?

YES, this is fun:)

Do you have a garden, or do you grow any of your own plants?

No, I am a lazy-loo, but in the spring I might bust one out:)

What are your favorite grains/beans/nuts?

For grains, I luuurve quinoa and amaranth. Garbanzos because of hummus, but azuki because they are yummy. And almonds are my favorite!:)

 

That’s all for this morning loves! Have a great Thursday Smile

xoxox,

Signature

17 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Vegan