Daily Archives: February 16, 2011

Mission: I Feel Pretty

Good morning bloggy boos! How are you?

I’m feeling pretty snazzy myself:)

I had a different post planned for today (bee tee dubs, sorry for no post yesterday! I am a busy little munchkin), but this has been on the brain for awhile now. This is going to jump around a bit, but I promise in the end it will all make sense:)

It’s confession time.

Are you ready?

I’m not perfect. (gasp!)

I know, shocker. But seriously. None of us are, and that’s what makes us all so uniquely beautiful.

But some days, we all let this get us down too much. We don’t do the right thing, we get a bad grade, are a few minutes late to work, what have you.

More than likely, we beat ourselves up for not saying the right thing to the guy or for not straightening that one part of our hair, or like myself last night, I was fed up with how long my bangs had gotten so I trimmed them myself.

Fail. boat.

I began to start cursing myself with, “Ugh, Katelyn, why did you do that?! Look what you did! Now you look like a crazy idiot and all of your friends will think you are crazy because your bangs make you look like a nutjob.”

But then I caught myself.

Why do we say these things to ourselves?

At that moment I asked myself, “Would I say this to Little Me?”. In other words, would I say this to a little five-year-old version of me?

Of course not!

So why do we say such awful things to ourselves?

Let me tell you a little story.

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of having about four hours between my first and second classes of the day, so I came home and was so jumpy umpy that I decided to get my workout in then instead of later on in the day.

I hopped on the treadmill and did speedwork for a shweaty seven miles. It was awesome, to say the least.

But around 25 minutes, I felt my muscles starting to ache a little bit and I could feel that it was from not running in so long, but I wanted to keep pushing myself. I heard myself saying that if I slowed down or took a break, I wouldn’t be able to run a marathon, ever.

But then I took a second to remember how I felt when I saw my Dad approaching us after running the Boston Marathon for the first time, covered in salty sweat, a shiny silver blanket, and with Gu gel on his face.

^^ After my first 5K

I had never been so proud of my Dad in my entire life. I cried the happiest tears I can ever remember.

Then, on December 1st, he was out running at six in the morning, and it was rainy. It was pitch-dark, and I can remember the rain practically being sideways.

At 6:45, we got a call. He was in the emergency room and had been hit by a car. I had to go to school, and my Mom didn’t tell me everything she had been told on the phone; instead, she told me only that he had been hit and she was going to see him, but that he would be okay.

The thing was, he wasn’t going to be okay.

He was in the hospital for two weeks, and for the first few days could barely speak and almost didn’t remember who my sister and I were. He slept continuously, and was hardly himself.

He had sustained a terrible head injury, leading to bleeding in the part of his brain that deals with memory and thinking skills. They told us he might need brain surgery, but thank goodness he didn’t.

He spent two weeks in a rehabilitation facility, and is on disability from work possibly until August. We do not know if his brain function will ever be the same.

However, his recovery has been one of the speediest and most efficient that his doctors have ever seen. If he had not been taking such good care of his body his whole life, his body would not be repairing itself at the rate that it is.

So as I was running and feeling terrible about my future as a runner because of one little muscle cramp, I thought of my Dad.

IMG_2988

Here is a man who was hit by a car, sustained a brain injury, but is able to recover so quickly and get back to running within two months of the accident.

I began to cry. The biggest feeling of pride and love welled up in my heart, and suddenly my muscle aches were meaningless. I was flying. My legs were propelling me so quickly on my treadmill that I could have sworn I was pushing the treadmill rather than it pushing me.

At that moment, I remembered why I had started running in the first place. It gives me such joy and pride to know that I have pushed my body to its limits, to move my body in the way that God intended, improving my mind, body, and soul all with steps on the pavement.

I realized that one muscle cramp wouldn’t kill my training. I realized that I was strong, beautiful, and so incredibly blessed to be given legs to walk on and a heart to love with.

And lastly, I realized that no one would give a shit that my bangs looked crazy because a. most likely no one would even notice, and b. it’s just appearance. No one really cares if you’re having a bad hair day! If you’ve got a on a smile, no one will even notice your crazy hair, and if they do, they won’t care because you love yourself.

After all of this, I took my glorious shower, got ready, looked in the mirror, and surprised myself by thinking, “Wow girl, you’re pretty!”.

What? I caught myself; I feel pretty?

Right then and there, I smiled at myself and realized how beautiful we all are, and that we beat ourselves up way too much about the little things.

So, I captured that moment with a dorky mirror picture of myself, and I encourage you to do the same.

IMG_3736

This is incredibly weird to be putting up a MySpace-esque picture on the bloggity blog, but lezzbehonest, we’ve all done it and doesn’t it make you feel like a hot piece of bootay with every subsequent picture you take?

It does for me:)

IMG_3738

Just for good measure.

So my friends, I leave you with this:

You are strong.

You are beautiful.

You are loved.

We all need to believe that a little bit more, so I encourage you to think some good thoughts, be kind to the Little You in you, and feel pretty.

Best. movie. ever.

 

So take a picture of yourself feeling your prettiest and e-mail it to me or, if you have a bloggity blog, post and link back and I will put up all of the pictures in a cumulative blog post.

Imeann, if the idea of sending a picture of yourself doesn’t totally creepskys you out, but we are all best friends so who currs.

We are all beautiful!

Let’s start a movement!

Mission: I Feel Pretty

Speak kindly, think positively and be beautiful.

If you’re feeling passionate about this like I am, have a look at Janae’s post from yesterday on exercise guilt. I absolutely love her, she is so inspirational and has helped me to remind myself what my crazykins personality actually sounds like through all of this. It’s so easy to lose yourself in hard times.

That’s all for today loves! Have a great Hump Day🙂

How are you making yourself feel pretty today?

Telling myself I am one hot piece of bootay and eating some chocolate. Yezzer.

Do you ever experience exercise guilt? How do you get past it?

I think of my Dad ❤

Have you ever gone through something hard with a loved one? Please share! We can all help each other out, that’s what bloggy friends are for!

I love you all so much!! Don’t be shy, believe me I have been through a mother with breast cancer, nothing is worth bottling up:)

xoxox,

Signature

54 Comments

Filed under Rants, Tips and Tricks, Workouts