Because who doesn’t like a warm batch of cookies.

Good morning chickadoodees! How are you on this fine Indulgence Friday morning?

I am dandylicious, mainly because I baked up a storm in my kitchen last night.

IMG_4148

You see, my AP Bio teacher has been an amazing teacher all year, and someone who I’ve enjoyed talking to about the Padre, running, healthy food, almond butter, and nutrition.

IMG_4128

To say the least, he basically rocks my socks. And through all of these hard times the past few months, he has taken tons of time to meet with me during my free periods and go over things from class that I didn’t understand, since many times it was not exactly easy to stay focused. (If you would like to know more about my last few months, you can read about them here.)

IMG_4138

So, what better way to thank someone than to bake them some yummy deliciousness?

IMG_4153

Um, I don’t really think there is.

Cookies are always the way to go.

IMG_4144

Obviously I had to concoct something brand-spankin’-new. Which meant thinking of one of the most delicious combinations known to man, and creating it in moist, chewy cookie form.

I would call this one a “great success” (name that movie!).

IMG_4143

These are moist, flavorful, and most of all, nutrition- and protein- packed. And as usual, they are gluten-free, vegan, and completely sugar-free. So basically dessert is okay any time of the day.

And I’m okay with that.

IMG_4139

This one’s for you, Doc!

IMG_4154

Chocolate-Covered Banana Cookies

Adapted from my Orange-Cranberry and Raspberry Amaretto Cookies

Makes 12 Large Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup almond flour (almond meal)
  • 1/3 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/4 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1/3 + 1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia Baking Blend
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. chocolate extract
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened So Delicious Coconut)
  • 1 block of chocolate, roughly chopped (I used Baker’s unsweetened)
  • cacao nibs, for garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and grease a cookie sheet with coconut oil.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, mash one of your bananas until it is almost liquidy, and then add the extractives and 1/4 cup of non-dairy milk.
  4. Add wet to dry, and mix thoroughly. Add more non-dairy milk as needed to make a cookie dough that is stirrable, not tough or stiff. You want your dough to be wet enough to spread itself into a cookie shape, but firm enough to hold its shape once plopped down.
  5. Fold in your chopped chocolate. Peel your second banana and chop into small pieces. Fold into the cookie dough.
  6. Scoop dough by the tablespoon onto your cookie sheet and sprinkle with cacao nibs.
  7. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick poked into the center comes out clean.
  8. Try not to burn your tongue eating one of these straight out of the oven.

IMG_4143

Okay I ate approx. two of these straight out of the oven. Sorry DSmith, had to taste test Winking smile

But lezzbehonest, these were the most moist, delicious cookies I have ever tasted. The combo of the sweet, baked banana and the shockingly bitter chocolate makes for a killer combo!

It is basically like banana bread in cookie form, but better. And there’s chocolate. And we all know everything is better with chocolate:)

IMG_4137

Since they were such a hit with (my tummy) and the fam, I am making another batch later this afternoon. So Hollie, be sure to demand one of these cookies tomorrow!

I love Indulgence Friday🙂

See you tomorrow bloggy boos!! Indulge big today:)

Something to Think:

Today in the locker room at my gym, I heard a woman with her daughter and remarked how blissful it is to be a child. She responded with, “Yeah, well I’m a slave!”. For a moment I thought she was joking, but she looked honestly upset. Are some parents actually resentful of their children? I know this is not something I have ever come across. Do any of you have some thoughts on this?

How are you celebrating Indulgence Friday?

Tell me about your yumssss!:)

What is your favorite cookie flavor?

Currently, this one. Banana bread in cookie form, plus chocolate. It does not get much better than that my friends.

How do you usually thank people?

I love baking because you get to lick the bowl and “taste test” Winking smile

xoxox,

Signature

p.p.s. I just realized I sounded WAY more serious than usual today. Maybe it is because I am getting ready for college decisions to come my way? Lots of big life decisions are coming up in the next two weeks, and I am both excited and completely freaked out. Wish me luck love doves:)

27 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes, Vegan

27 responses to “Because who doesn’t like a warm batch of cookies.

  1. Those look Ahhhhh-mazing!!!!

    I think some parents do feel—it’s pretty sad. They should have thought about what things would be like before they knocked themselves up 🙂

    My hairdresser and I were just talking about moms yesterday. She had been watching home videos of when she was three, and was so amazed at how awesome and patient and kind her mom was…it’s the things we don’t remember about our moms—we don’t have the memories, but they do! Some people are not cut out to be parents!

    I used to always thank people with cookies, but then I felt bad about giving them junk food (this was pre-healthy cooking), so I stopped. Making healthy cookies is a great idea!

  2. those are genuis cookies, for real!! I love the way they look too. So inviting!
    Good luck on deciding a college. Where are you looking?

  3. Food gifts are ALWAYS the way to go. I am sure he will love them!

  4. I actually normally get my teachers cards or bake them treats too. That is fabulous that you got so close to him. You will have to post how he enjoys them! 🙂

    PS: 1 more dayyy!

  5. THESE LOOK FAB!! healthy foodie gifts are PERF for health food lovers!!! you wudnt mind sending some this way- ay?

  6. Wow looks so yummy:)!!!
    Maybe could you add me to your blogroll? I’d really appreciate it. Your on mine of course:)
    Ps. I love operation pretty;)!

  7. I don’t have school today, so I celebrated “indulgence friday” with 2 batches of fresh muffins, a piece of chocolate cake with hot fudge and chocolate chips AND a bowl of ice creammmy 🙂 yums!

  8. Those cookies look AWESOME!!! I love banana’s so anything with it is always delish in my books!

    Ps. i love that you call your dad “padre” because i totally do to… do you call him “faja” too (Like said faa-jaaaa hah) <– i clearly dont know how to explain how to say it via the internet hahaha

  9. Those look so good! I love baking for thank you’s too.

  10. Your cookies sound DIVINE! I love that they are SUGAR FREE!!! 😀 YAY for No Sugar Added! 😀

    Good lucky Darling! 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  11. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog!

    HOLY YUM! Those cookies look delicious! I love sugar free baking! My current cookie flavor obsession is Carob Banana! Yum!

  12. wheeee friday! Great post today chica, how is your faja doin?? I LOVED my ap bio teacher as well. Such an easy person to talk to, knowledgeable, interesting. I remember I’d spend all my study halls in his room! Anysways…my favorite cookie flavor is oatmeal choco. chip. nom nom!

  13. Awe, I just discovered your blog! Those cookies look delish – look forward to reading more 🙂 !

  14. runyogarepeat

    Yum! My AP Bio teacher was awesome as well because we had a joke of a day. I’m loving peanut butter oatmeal choco chip cookies lately, but these look fabulous.
    When parents pick up their kids from the summer camp I work at, most of them are happy, but it always annoys me when I hear some of them honestly complaining and telling their kids to stay for a few more weeks.

  15. College is so fun! With your personality I can just tell you are going to make the MOST of it!

  16. I totally understand about college…lots of great stuff right around the corner!! it’s going to be a blast!! Especially if you bring those cookies with you. I bet you’ll get at LEAST 50 new friends right off the bat with those babies! 😀

  17. Wonderful recipe and great things to think about!
    I definitely thank people with food. I LOVE to bake and create food and sharing makes it so much better. 🙂
    My favorite cookies include healthy ingredients, nut butter, and bananas.. raw cacao or maca doesn’t hurt either. 🙂 Your cookies are on my list of “To-Makes”!!

    That comment the woman at your gym said is sad. I would never want to be resentful of my child! How could you?!?! 😦

    Happy Friday!

  18. I love baking for people too, it’s the best therapy! These cookies look so soft and pillowy…yum, like a muffin-cookie! I love the combo of banana w/ dark chocolate, good call!

  19. Those cookies look so chewy!! I love a good chocolate chip or oatmeal raisin cookie. Delicious! Have a great Friday 😀

  20. Wow, Katelyn! These cookies look so yummy! I can’t wait to make them and wash them down with a tall glass of So Delicious coconut milk! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. There are a lot of kids (big and small) who are going to be very happy around here!
    Oh, and I just shared your post with our 30,000 Facebook fans, too, because as you said, who doesn’t like a warm batch of cookies? We know we do!

  21. Traci

    If I wasn’t fighting the flu right now I’d so be making a batch! They sound delicious and I love So Delicious coconut milk too so that makes it even better! 🙂

  22. You are a talented baker those look DIVINE!!!

    As for the comment in the changeroom- some parents seem to really resent parenthood at times. It is a stressful full-time job, but it makes me so sad to see when they take it out on the kids!

  23. I feel very sorry for any children who have parents who are resentful of them–that is so sad!

    On a better note, these cookies look so great! 🙂

  24. Oh man, I work in a daycare and I DEFINITELY see parents that are resentful of their children! It’s really sad. I know there were times when my parents were really frustrated with us, but I never feel like they resented being parents. I feel so bad for the children who do feel like that 😦

  25. Re: the woman in the locker-room… the mother, I’m guessing? …Sounds like she didn’t have much of a childhood…or a happy one at that. Sad.
    Parenthood is definitely a full-time…and lifetime responsibility, but on of the most beautiful roles you’ll ever get to have! …Next to being a partner to my true love, being a mother is the most amazing thing I have become. And all together, “the family” we’ve created is the most special thing I’ve been gifted with in this life. …What else is there? I used to strive for success in my business, and still have those desires– but the family that I’ve created is truly the greatest most rewarding gift! …Nothing beats family love– nothing! =)

  26. Those cookies looks amazing so fluffy and chewy I want some now!

  27. You can see how yummy those cookies are-they look hot and chewy-perfection!!!! Care to ship some off my way???

Leave a Reply

