banana bread blondie…cake!

Good morning bloggy boos! How are you?

I am quite the snuffalupagus this morning, I am pretty sure I have sneezed up a tornado. I think it may be appropriate to bring my own box of tissues to class. Whaddup, nasal decongestant!

I loved hearing all of your weird food stories and advice about college! In case you missed yesterday’s post, you can read it here. Long story short, I won an indoor triathlon and am choosing between two AMAZING colleges, and one that I am wait-listed to.

Finally it is sinking in that this is a decision that will determine my life path for the next four years. And possibly my life course for the rest of my life. Not going to lie, it’s a bit heavy but I am ready for it. No matter where I go, I know I will have a fun four years, at one more so than the others:) Sorority, here I come!

So what’s a girl to do with such a heavy decision on her shoulders? Um, eat.

Specifically, Banana Bread Cake.

IMG_4355

That’s what happens when you’d rather have banana bread that looks like a slice of cake than a slice of bread. Chickayeahhhh 🙂

As a child, banana bread was my favorite thing that the Madre would make. It has a soft spot in my heart, and obviously I had to replace the sugar, eggs, and gluten with high-protein alternatives. You could basically eat this for dinner.

IMG_4356

What, you don’t eat cake every day?

IMG_4357

Because that’s just wrong. Make this, and have cake every day for the rest of your life.

IMG_4359

Or should I say, ten times a day for the rest of your life.

Not that I would know or anything.

IMG_4360

IMG_4361

Banana Bread Blondie Cake

Vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free

Adapted from my Orange-Cranberry and Raspberry Amaretto Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 + 1/4 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/3 + 1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia Baking Blend
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1.5 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened So Delicious Coconut)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F and grease a cake pan with coconut oil.
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, mash both of your bananas until almost liquidy, and then add the extractives and 1/4 cup of non-dairy milk.
  4. Add wet to dry, and mix thoroughly. Add more non-dairy milk as needed to make a dough that is stirrable, not tough or stiff. You want your dough to be wet enough to spread itself into a cake shape.
  5. Pour dough into your cake pan, and smooth the top.
  6. Bake for 30-45 minutes, or until a toothpick poked into the center comes out clean. Cook it more if you want a less dense center.
  7. Try not to burn your tongue eating a slice of this straight out of the oven.

IMG_4362

Dense like a blondie, banana-y like banana bread, and sliced like a cake. What more could a girl want?!

IMG_4363

I enjoyed a (few) large slices with apple spread frosting, coconut butter, and chopped banana. It doesn’t get any better:)

No picture of that though because it just looked narsty.

IMG_4364

^^ See my oven mitt thumb print? Aweeee presh, my cake has a beauty mark!

That’s all for today loves! Tomorrow you will have a delicious macaroon/ball recipe and some sweet protein socca! See you on the flip, chickadees:)

Tell me some of your college stories/advice!!

Please and shank you:)

How do you handle big life decisions? Are you a worrier or a planner?

I am a huge planner. Although things can worry me a little bit, my viewpoint is that there is a plan, and you will end up where you are supposed to be.

Favorite childhood food?

Banana bread and oat cakes:) Recipe for those son of guns coming soon!

xoxox,

Signature

37 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes, Vegan

37 responses to “banana bread blondie…cake!

  1. Congrats on your triathlon, girl!! And as for college, don’t stress! Everything will fall into place just as it should. I went to a college in my hometown state my first year (even though I really wanted to come to NYC) because my mom wasn’t ready to let me go to NYC by myself. After one year at my other college, I finally convinced her and now I’m so happy going to school & living in the big apple 🙂

    Sorry that was probably so confusing 🙂

  2. Ha ha… that’s how a lot of my quick breads look because I just don’t have a loaf pan… oops! 🙂
    As a kid, my fav treats were always the brownies my mom made… perfectly fudgy. I’m having a hard time finding something similar!

  3. AHH This looks great!! IM SO EXCITED FOR YOU!! im just a year behind you and i cnnt wait for colllege- just think u are going to start a whole new path and phase in your life!!

  4. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Yum…that banana cake looks delish! I live that the recipe is so easy too! Good luck with choosing your colleges…whichever you choose I’m sure it will be a great fit for you!

  5. Oh my. If I could grab this off the screen, I’d devour it in seconds!
    Congrats on the triathalon! I could never do that!

  6. that looks so good! I make zucchini banana bread every summer-this looks too good not to try though!
    I’m a big planner-I need to know what’s happening in the future..i’m not the “meh lets wait and see what happens type”

  7. That looks so good! I’m a huge fan of banana bread! I handle big life decisions realy well. It’s the little day to day stuff that gets to me!!

  8. Choosing a college is a HUGE deal and I put a lot of pressure on myself senior year. But by the middle of my freshman year away at school, I knew that I’d made the wrong decision. I took a semester off and decided on finishing up down in North Carolina. Things don’t always go the way you plan and just remember that it’s not set in stone! I’m sure you will love where you end up but just in case you don’t, don’t forget that you can always change it and be happy 🙂

    • Awe thank you for your words of wisdom, love:) I can only hope that the place I’ve chosen is where I’m meant to be. If things don’t work out, I have to keep in mind that I can always transfer, if need be. Maybe I’ll end up down in North Carolina!:)

  9. Ah that bread looks amazing!!! I’ve never made banana bread before, I feel like I’ve been missing out on so much =/

  10. girlfriiiieeend, I totally hear ya on the waiting/worrying/planning. it’s all going to come together beautifully – I know it!

    my biggest word of advice is to LIVE IT UP while you can. now that I’m out of my relationship, I kinda wish I could get my senior year back… the senior year I spent in a long-distance relationship wishing I was in Virginia Beach with my boy, when I should have been living it up and partying.

    cause, ya know, after you leave college, it’s just called irresponsibility and alcoholism. 😉

    xoxo

    • Oh hon, I will! I am so glad I didn’t stay in my relationship from last year, otherwise I would be grueling over a boyfriend at college and not enjoying myself. Thank gawd I ended that:) And hahahha I love you, I am so glad it’s just called “fun” when you’re in college! p.s. when I join a sorority you are coming to visit mmk

  11. Congrats on your win girlie! I hope you feel better soon :). I just got home from college visits so I can relate to what you’re going through. Although my decision process is a year away (I’m a junior), I definitely feel the heft of narrowing down the college list. I know that wherever you go, you will succeed. As long as you’re happy and feel good about your decision, your college experience will be a prosperous one. I can’t wait to hear your exciting news :D.

    Also, the banana blondies sound amazing! As we speak, I’m totally craving banana bread/blondies because the smell from freshly baked coconut banana cupcakes is wafting through my kitchen. How long until Lent is over again :P?

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  12. Hello, deliciousness!! I am definitely a planner and I research all my big decisions (grad schools, GRE’s) like crazy! But I also believe that in the end, despite worrying and craziness, things will work out! 🙂

  13. I can’t wait to make this Banana Bread Blondie and eat cake all the time! Thank you for another amazing So Delicious recipe. And congratulations on your indoor triathlon win! Way to go!

  14. I am officially drooling! And making this SOON!!

    As for college- know that no matter where you go it’s there to show you your options and you’ll figure out what direction is right ❤

  15. Definitely bookmarked this! I don’t any quinoa flour, but I do have garbanzo bean flour. I bet this is so good and creamy!

  16. I have everything I need to make this YESS!!

  17. Congrats on your Triatholon girl!!! 😀

    YUM!!!! Your Banana Cake looks divine!!! 😀 I want a slice! 😀

  18. The banana cake looks delish! College is a big decision and not something to take lightly! Make sure you choose a school for the right reasons. High school friends aren’t always a good reason. I was so glad I went to a school with no high school friends. I made so many new friends and some of my best friends ever in college and I’m glad I took the chance to go out there on my own. It helped me figure out who I am and, although it was rough at times, it made me a much better person.

    Also, don’t go too far away from home 😉 I liked going home a weekend or 2 a semester. It was a 5 hours drive so it wasn’t something I did very often, but it was nice being close enough that I could drive home if I needed to. I also had friends who lived 2 or so hours away and we’d go to their houses some weekends to visit a beach or city or something near by so it’s nice being close to home but not tooo close. Plus, I’m sure your parents will appreciate it.

    So those are my 2 cents. I made my school decision entirely off of the curriculum the school had for my major and reputation and ranking of the school in that program. Things worked out great as far as friends and distance luckily, but I have friends who it didn’t work out quite as well for them. They were too far away from home, went there for high school friends and they stopped being friends about 5 minutes after classes started, etc. So just something to think about beyond all of the educationy parts of college 😉 The education in college is great, but it’s the life experiences that you’ll remember. Join every club, play sports you never played before, join a sorority even though you never thought you’d be that girl. You’ll figure it out. It’ll be great. You’ll love it 🙂 Keep an open mind and a positive attitude and it’ll be perfect.

  19. Good job on the triathlon! I myself want to do one except I still need to practice my swimming.

  20. moveovercelery

    That’s so exciting that you have options! I’m really excited for you! 🙂

    I agree. Cake all day everyday.

  21. Abby

    That Triple B sounds pretty bomb! 😛

  22. You will have the best time whatever college you end up going too! It will go by so fast so make the best of it! 🙂
    Im going to try that recipe and cant wait for tomorrow’s macaroon/ball recipe!
    Banana Choc Chip Muffins was my favourite childhood food!

  23. runyogarepeat

    Bananas make everything better!
    Sororities and clubs are great for making tons of friends! You’re just surrounded by people like you, and you become so close to them. I’d say to just try a variety of things in college. It’s fun & you never know what you may like.
    Good luck with your decision!

  24. my advice would be to make sure you’re selecting your college for the right reason. keep in mind that you might change but for now picture yourself there. I know you probably hear this alot, but it really does make a difference. It sounds like you can already see yourself running through the trails and such but make sure you can see yourself in class and with the people too!!
    that cake. need I say more ; )

  25. Awesome looking bread-cake! I’d have trouble not consuming most of it at once 🙂

    I think you’ll just really have to follow your gut on the college decision. Visualize yourself on the campus walking around, and being there, and just see how it feels!

  26. Alba

    As regards to college advice, pick classes you know you’ll love, not classes which give you an easy A – they’re so much more rewarding. Integrate yourself as much as possible and join whatever interests you; in my case, having a lot on my plate helps me focus more if I balance everything (another skill you MUST master in college!).

    Big decisions? Stage one: worry and possibly shed a tear or two; stage two: PLAN. 😀 So that makes me a hybrid of a worrier and a planner!

    I can’t remember my favourite childhood food *sob* I’m getting old!

    xoxo

  27. Why has it never occurred to me to bake quick bread in a cake pan…genius!!!

    And I felt so overwhelmed by the whole college decision process, but no matter where you end up you will have the best 4 years of your life. And go out for rush, joining a sorority made college 100x more awesome 🙂

  28. welp, bananas are ripe– I’m making a strawberry banana version as we speak 🙂

  29. Pingback: Cake Slice Stress Toy

Leave a Reply

