Sun Warrior Protein Socca + Carrot-Almond Macaroons!

Gooooood morning bloggy boos! How are you?

I am sleepy weepy. Thank GOODNESS third quarter is over, I can now offich say I am a fourth quarter senior! It is allll smooth sailing from here:)

Thank you for all of your college stories and tips on going to college and roomies! You guys are so insightful, and it’s making me even more excited to go off to school in the fall!! (and meet my roommate on FridaySmile)

Yesterday was spent in an awesome workout at the gym where I ran into a couple of friends and Lisa (haha as per the Friday uge). We talked for about an hour and a half on the bikes. Time flies when you’re having fun:)

….like this guy:

Free ticket to the gun show? Oh hey new spinning teacher.

Anywhos, since yesterday was Indulgence Friday, I indulged in a little of sitting on my batooty. Aka, I came home, ate, watched Biggest Loser and House (any fans out there? Holllaaa at me!), then went to sleep.

This morning will be spent on a gorgeous canal run, crossing my fingers that it does not rain/snow/hail/cats and dogs! Gotta love Upstate New York. <— Do you sense my sarcasm?

So as you read this, I will be hitting the pavement with my new baby (who is still yet to be named). Any suggestions?? The first new baby has been affectionately named Darren. Ob. sessed.

But since you all are most likely tumbly grumbling for a new recipe, here are TWO. One is super simple, and the other requires some fun ingredients.

Last week, Lisa and I got together for a food date before our kick-toosh spin class (we have agreed that if we were guys, we would completely have a crush on our spin teacher. weird? don’t answer that).

First we made jooooose…

Yes, that is a whole Vita-Mix full of juice. And yes, it is completely poss to drink all of that (except we didn’t…they should make juice-drinking competitions for health champs like usSmile).

Served in wine glasses, as uge.

Do you see the wabbit?

It’s like looking for animals in the clouds, except juice tastes way better than air. Just saying:)

‘Twas a kitchen sink juice with carrots, cilantro, lemons, celery, kale stalks, dandelion greens, ginger, red pepper, and lawd knows what else. It was delish and hit the spotsky Smile

Then we made Sun Warrior Protein Socca with sprouted LENTIL flour. Socca without garbanzo beans?! Say whaaaa?

You heard me right, and chickadees it was so good. Topped with Sunflower Seed Butter (my obsession) and leftover Acai Pomegranate Chia Seed Jam.

Oh and coconut, coconut butter, and cacao nibs because it was completely necessary.

Ob. sessed.

Sun Warrior Protein Socca

Makes 2 small servings, or one large portion.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sprouted lentil flour, or other bean flour (a la vitamix)
  • 2 scoops vanilla Sun Warrior
  • 20 drops vanilla stevia
  • 1 cup water (not sure on this measurement–best to go by texture and add gradually)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl or Vita-Mix.
  2. Heat a frying pan and add a tablespoon or so of extra-virgin coconut oil. Add batter in small amounts at a time.
  3. Cook like pancakes until cooked through.
  4. Top with your toppin’s and enjoy!

I think we downed this whole batch in two minutes flat and then ate some ‘roons later.

Roons say whaaaa? Get at me kiddos because this is the simplest, healthiest thing in the world. You’re going to wonder why you didn’t think of this biznazz.

I present to you,

ALMOND Carrot Balls!

Or if you want to sound fancy you can call them ‘roons. Whatever floats you boat:)

Carrot-Almond Macaroons

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of carrot pulp (or squeezed, blended/shredded/processed carrots)
  • 2 cups ground raw almonds
  • stevia or other sweetener to taste (if desired)

Directions:

  1. Make your carrot pulp, and grind your almonds.
  2. Combine the two in a large bowl and pack down. Add sweetener to taste(such as stevia, yacon, lucama, agave, maple syrup, or blackstrap molasses).
  3. Shape into balls or macaroons (with a melon baller). Eat straight up, or dehydrate for a few hours and enjoy as macaroons.
  4. Enjoy!

First, you take some carrot pulp (from your juicer), or simply put carrots in the blender and then squeeze out the moisture with a cheesecloth.

Then you grind up a ton of almonds, and combine the two! Shape them into balls and eat them that way (absolutely delicious) or dehydrate for a few hours and eat them as macaroons.

Our next project is to dip them in dark chocolate and melted coconut butter!:)

That’s all for today loves! Enjoy your Sattyday:)

How did you celebrate Indulgence Friday?

Sitting on my bootay and tons of Quinoa-Hummus-Raisin-Balsamic bowls:)

Favorite super-simple recipe. GO!

These balls. <— Minds out of the gutter people.

Tell me about your favorite protein powder!

Currently mine is Vega Vanilla Sport Protein, but I am convincing the ‘rents to get me some Sun Warrior:)

xoxox,

Signature

31 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Indulgence Friday, Recipes, Vegan

31 responses to “Sun Warrior Protein Socca + Carrot-Almond Macaroons!

  1. Your pictures look gorgeous today! It helped there was a gorgeous man at the top of this post. 😉

    The socca looks good! I made socca pizza last night – delicious!

  2. I still haven’t tried socca 😦 I need to make a trek to Whole Paycheck ASAP. By the way that picture of the socca is GORGEOUS.
    My favorite quick recipe is scrambled tofu with tomato (tofu+nooch+tomato+frying pan).

  3. I’ve seen every House episode. Chase is my boyfriend. and Cutty is a babe.

  4. I have been trying to figure out ways to use up my pulp from the juicer and this is perfect thanks for the idea!

  5. Done and done. Those cute lil carrot cake balls are on my Easter menu! My fam will love them 🙂 Hope you have a great run today!

  6. AHH so so jealous of your seniorism! wiat that socca is so creative!! how cool! SUn warrior will always be my fav protein powder! i wish i could get vega over here tho to try!

  7. TheCreamFilling

    Girl I have two months left of senior year! It’s craaaazy! Aren’t you pumped for graduation?

    I can’t get any vegan protein powders over here 😦 All we have is Spirutein and that stuff just tastes nastay.

    I celebrated Indulgence Friday by baking cookies with my friends 😀

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!

    Yum…those macaroons sound delicious! Sunflower seed butter is one of my favorite nut butters and on that socca I’m sure it would be delicious! I have got to get some bean flour soon so I can try that out!

  9. Yum! I love making macaroons — I got a bit addicted to them. Carrot macaroons sound especially yummy — I’m going to need to try these soon!

  10. I’m a total House fan, this season has left me on the edge of my seat! The macaroons look AH-mazing. I’d definitely be gobbling those up in a jiffy! 🙂

  11. Senior year is almost up! I’m so happy.

    Great recipes, by the way.

  12. Those almond carrott balls love delicious, well everything else does as well 😉

    Indulgence Friday: Me and my mom made Sangrias… delicious 🙂

  13. Other than a short shift at work, I pretty much sat on my butt all day yesterday and loved it! That was a good indulgence 🙂

  14. Holy moly macaroons! Those look delicious 😀

  15. Oh, c’mon. Nothing’s funnier than a good ball recipe joke!
    And dizzang I’ve been wanting Sun Warrior too. SO EXPENSIVE but I have a feeling the 2.2 pound jug on Amazon for 48 bucks would last me quiiiiite a while haha.

  16. Oh my gosh that guy has muscles! 😀 LUCKY! 😉

    Your recipes are the best! 😀

  17. We are so awesome in the kitchen 🙂

    I think the carrot balls are my fave now too—and they’re even better with chocolate!

  18. Jane

    Thanks for the recipe!!! Love it

    btw, bird nest is made up of about 58% soluable proteins…the highest amoung all food and even synetic protein powders

    it greatly increase tissue regeneration

    sources taken from the internet
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bird_nest_soup
    http://hongkong-bird-nest.50webs.com/index_e.htm
    http://www.euyansang.com/

  19. You and Lisa make the most awesome looking meals together!!

  20. The Teenage Taste

    I love the idea of Indulgence Friday! It’s the perfect way to reward yourself for working hard all week. Those carrot almond macaroons look delicious! Adding them to my “to-make” list for sure!

  21. Ah, I would totally celebrate Indulgence Friday with Biggest Loser and House! 🙂 And of course, a few of those macaroons would be delish too!!

  22. Your carrot ‘roons make me want a dehydrator!

  23. those macaroons… or whatever you want to call them ;)…. look super tasty!! and healthy, too!

  24. That is such a simple recipe I can’t believe it!!

  25. applesnoats

    you are so awesome!give me some of your recipe making skillz pwease 🙂

  26. LETS MAKE MACAROONS THIS SUMMER. dealio?

  27. I’ve been seeing balls all over the internet.

    ehh. scratch that! haha! carrot balls and protein granola balls and mozzarella balls (im guilty of those!) and even coconut date balls. oh. my. yum! =) haha

  28. I like the 3 and 4 ingredient peanut butter cookies. Although they’re a little dangerous being as how they’re super easy to break out whenever I’m having a craving…

  29. moveovercelery

    I’m a junior but once fourth quarter hits, you can just FEEL the spring fever at our school. Finish strong, girl!

    Gotta gotta gotta make dem ‘roons.

  30. I love adding carrots to my macaroons! So tasty!! I made some at Halloween last year for the orange-colored theme. 😉

    I don’t use protein powder often, but my favorites are Sun Warrior and Hemp!

  31. Please tell me that’s not your spin instructor!? If so, I’m coming to your gym!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

