Daily Archives: March 5, 2011

I Found My Twinnie! [Indulgence Friday]

Good (afternoon) chickadees! How are you on this gloomy oomy Saturday?

Despite the gloom/rain/mush, I am j’adoring the warmth:) Yes, 47 degrees is a BIG DEAL in Upstate New York!

So yesterday was a bit crazy craze, sorry for no post loves! I had a sleepy day on Thursday, and then slept in a bit on Friday. I finally got to catch up on your bloggity blogs this morning! My Google Reader was full to the BRIM.

Anywhos, yesterday I cranked out another one of these spinning workouts at the gym, and then met my new bloggy friend Lisa for dinner at one of my favorite restaurants, Natural Oasis!

They have some of the best Ethiopian food I have ever tasted, and it is dirt cheap. And since we all know I am a cheapo, this is the perfect place for me:)

Since I am a seasoned eater at Natural Oasis, she had me order for the table. I chose the Risotto, Ethiopian Spiced Lentils, Curried Red Lentils, Sauteed Kale and Collard Greens, and Brussels Sprouts with Cauliflower.

IMG_4035

IMG_4036

IMG_4037

It all came with a giant pile of Injera, which is so. good. If you have never had Injera before, I urge you to go out to Ethiopian food tonight and try some. It is made of teff flour, which is crazy high in protein, and it is like gluten-free and vegan sourdough that you use as a plate/mop up stuff with. I could live on this stuff basically.

For dessert, we ordered some carroty deliciousness that involved raisins, so that is all I have to say about that:)

IMG_4038

Okay, enough with the food. I am not going to lie, this was the most fun I have had in a LONG time. Me and Lisa are basically twinnies just not the same age. Our birthdays are four days apart, we have the same philosophy about food, and have the same interests in regards to public health/nutrition/where our interests lie.

We were talking for so long that we actually got kicked out of the restaurant. They had cleaned everything up, put on their coats ready to close, and turned off the lights. “Goooodniiiight!” <—In their saweet Ethiopian accents

Hahahaha they pretty much gave us every hint to PLEASE LEAVE NOW.

But not before we got a picture together, obvs.

IMG_4039

Isn’t she gorg?! Go check out her bloggity blog, she is a culinary genius and just so fun to talk to. We are already planning on going to some crazy sounding classes that our gym has, so keep your eyes out for that:)

Hahahaha it is going to be so funny, did you know that our gym has a HULA HOOPING class?! It sounds crazy craze but the Madre took it awhile back and was crazy sore, so I am going to be laughing the whole time and then pay for it later by being sore. Karma people, karma:)

Slash we will also be making some raw deliciousness at her casa so get excited to see some yummy food in the near future! And hopefully running the Marine Core Half next year if I end up going to school in DC:)

That is all for today love bugs, I am off to the gymmy gym gym and then working on some papers before din din, and hopefully heading off to see some of my girls tonight! If not, more of an excuse to make some Raw Chocolate Mousse🙂

See you tomorrow morning bloggy boos! You will be seeing the post that was SUPPOSED to go up yesterday but didn’t because I am a lazy loo and slept in:) Aka, get ready for a Reader’s Request on my favorite go-to-snacks and meals on-the-go!

How did you celebrate Indulgence Friday?

ETHIOPIAN FOOD and making a new friend!:)

What is your favorite Ethiopian dish? Or if you don’t dig Ethiopian food, what is your favorite thing to order at a restaurant?

Ethiopian food: Lentils and injera. A match made in heaven:) Other restaurants: Raw Pizza!

Have you met someone through the blog world that you just “clicked” with?

Yessss, we are twinnies duh!

xoxox,

Signature

21 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Restaurants, Vegan, Workouts