Daily Archives: March 12, 2011

the cookie monster.

Good morning love doves, and happy weekend! How are you?

Today I am smiling ear-to-ear for a few reasons.

  1. Last night CK got the most views in the history of the bloggy! Honeybunches I cannot even explain to you how warm and fuzzy my heart is right now, can we all have a bloggy sleepover please and eat tons of homemade cookies? More on that in a bit:)
  2. Yesterday I had the honor of being featured on So Delicious Dairy Free’s Fan Page! And there is a SLIGHT possibility there will be a giveaway involved sometime in the near future:)
  3. Yesterday I took Body Pump for the first time in, uh, a year. WHY DID I SKIMP OUT FOR A WHOLE YEAR I missed it so muchhh! And now my hammies are sore as a beeyotch. Glorious. From the Padre, quote: “My butt hurts.” Hahaha that marathoner cried wee wee wee all the way home:)

    IMG_4175
    ^^ Got mah game face on.

    Don’t be fooled by how tan I look. I am actually super pale, I love my camera! It makes me look less pasty:)

  4. I slept more than twelve hours last night. Much needed, and much deserved. As a student I rarely get enough sleep (in my books I need at least 8 hours), so this was especially special:)
  5. Tonight I will be having din din with one of my favorite blends (bloggy friends), Hollie! Can’t wait to stuff our faces with cookies togeths girl!
  6. I am currently watching The Biggest Loser while blogging. I freaking love Hulu.
  7. I spent the entire night baking. Cookies. Approximately fifty of them. Allow me to explain. I put four times the amount of baking soda necessary for my base cookie recipes, so the Madre said I had “no choice but to quadruple the recipe”. The Padre jokingly said that it would be a TERRIBLE thing to have four times more cookies in the house. I couldn’t help but agree;)

Behold, two new cookie recipes!

IMG_4181

All are based off of my Gluten-Free Raspberry Amaretto Cookies, Orange-Cranberry Cookies, and Chocolate-Covered Banana Cookies.

As usual, they are gluten-free, vegan, sugar-free, whole-grain, and full of protein and healthy fats. Uh, scoresky!

Since I didn’t want a million of the same type of cookie, I figured why not divide up the dry mix and try out a couple new flava flavs?

So I did.

Since there are so many photographs, this story I am going to tell in pictures. Enjoy!

IMG_4183IMG_4184IMG_4186IMG_4187IMG_4189IMG_4194IMG_4195IMG_4208IMG_4210IMG_4211IMG_4214IMG_4219IMG_4228IMG_4229

^^ Hahaha that is definitely not normal.

Chocolate-Covered Banana Cookies (below. Click for the recipe!)

IMG_4241

IMG_4243

Thin Mint Meringue Cookies

Dense and fluffy at the same time, these cookies have a flavor similar to that of the childhood favorite with the appearance of a meringue cookie.

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup + 1/4 cup quinoa flour
  • 3/4 cup + 1/3 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/3 cup almond meal (almond flour)
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia Baking Blend (or your choice of sweetener)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa or carob powder (unsweetened)
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tbsp. xanthan gum
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp. ground flax seeds mixed into wet ingredients)
  • 1 tbsp. chocolate extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. peppermint extract
  • Non-dairy milk (I used Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a cookie sheet with coconut oil.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl, except for flax seeds.
  3. In a separate, smaller bowl, mix wet ingredients and flax seed meal. Let sit for a few minutes.
  4. Combine wet and dry in the larger bowl and add coconut milk until desired cookie-dough consistency. You want it thick enough to hold its shape, but not so thick that they may turn out dry.
  5. Scoop by the tablespoon onto your cookie sheet and flatten slightly if necessary.
  6. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_4233

If that thin mint deliciousness was not enough for you, here is recipe numero dos!

IMG_4237

Coconut-Almond Macaroons

Dense and delicious, these are not your typical macaroons. Enjoy with a tall glass of non-dairy milk, or some pineapple!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup + 1/4 cup quinoa flour
  • 1/3 cup + 1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/3 cup almond meal (almond flour)
  • 1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 cup NuStevia Baking Blend (or your choice of sweetener)
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp. flax mixed with wet ingredients)
  • 1 tbsp. almond extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. vanilla extract
  • Non-dairy milk (I used Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a cookie sheet with coconut oil.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl, except for flax seeds.
  3. In a separate, smaller bowl, mix wet ingredients and flax seed meal. Let sit for a few minutes.
  4. Combine wet and dry in the larger bowl and add coconut milk until desired cookie-dough consistency. You want it thick enough to hold its shape, but not so thick that they may turn out dry.
  5. Scoop by the tablespoon onto your cookie sheet and flatten slightly if necessary.
  6. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  7. Enjoy!

IMG_4239

I ate way too many cookies last night.

I mean, what is a girl to do when there are bowls to lick and warm cookies to eat?

Uh, eat.

So I did.

IMG_4234

I would call that a “great success” numero dos:)

And now my freezer is full of cookies. Looks like I won’t be doing much baking for awhile!

I am off to shower and then go see The King’s Speech. Later on I’ll be having dinner and TONS of cookies with Holls!

See you tomorrow lovlies:)

Workout Song of the Day:

Backseat by New Boyz. Don’t judge the artist name, I promise you will rock out to this song. It is best on zee spin bike!:)

p.s. I have been way too serious-sounding for my liking lately. Don’t worry my crazykins self will show itself again tomorrow, don’t worry chickadees Winking smile

What are your Saturday plans?

King’s Speech, sprucing up at home, dinner, then stuffing my face with cookies and watching Biggest Loser with my homegirl.

Any cookie flavor requests?

I am MORE than happy to make more cookies:)

Are you obsessed with the Biggest Loser too?!

I recently became hooked. Why I never watched it before I am stumped. I LOVE YOU HULU

xoxox,

Signature

25 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free, Recipes, Tips and Tricks, Vegan